We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight stay in Syracuse area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice overnight stay in Syracuse area”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle on September 21st, as we were in town to go to the RV Show at the State Fairgrounds. Hotel was a little tricky getting to coming from the South up Thompson Road, going around the circle for the first time. The hotel was nice, beautiful lobby area, and the breakfast area was also very nice. The Hot breakfast was very good, especially for the reasonable price of the hotel stay, Didn't have to leave the hotel for breakfast before heading out to the show. Check in was very quick and easy, didn't take long at all. When we arrived at our room on the second floor, the hotel room was neat and clean, not the most modern, but it was clean, so we can't complain. The double beds were a little smaller than we would have liked, and the kids decided they didn't want to have to share a bed, so I went down to the front desk, and the manager at the front desk was very helpful, and personally set us up with an extra cot, and delivered it herself, at no extra cost, she was very helpful, and we couldn't thank her enough. We will definately stay at this hotel again the next time we need to stay in the Syracuse area overnight.
Mike S.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDS13327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuegirl, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
You just made my day! Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay with us; it was a pleasure to have you with us. I really appreciate your kind words for me and the staff, they really do a great job keeping us ship-shape and always with a smile. I can't wait for you to return as the renovations are just about done in the lobby and it is even more beautiful; won't be long until the fireplace is lit for the winter.
Thank you again for choosing us!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    129
    84
    27
    17
See reviews for
115
83
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Intervale, NH
Level Contributor
241 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My mother and I were headed back to MA from a trip to the Thousand Islands and realized we would have to stay over near the NY Thruway. My husband went online and booked us a room here. I was a little leery as college was in session and hoping Syracuse didn't have a home game the next day. They did but for some reason it was in NJ, works for us as the place was less than half full. The young woman at the desk seemed annoyed that she would have to put her call on hold to check us in and I did inquire about any college partiers but she said it was quiet but she would be going off duty shortly so if there was any noise I would have to take it upwith her relief. Lobby was undergoing renovations but we just wanted a comfy bed and peace so we could rest up for our ride home the next morning.
It was quiet and a large, clean, comfortable room with flat screen TV and no highway noise. The only drawback was a lack of frig. to freeze our ice packs so I did have to get a couple of bags of ice. Lots of counter and other space for luggage although we took in only the necessities for the overnight. Rate was reasonable but my status as a Diamond member was not recognized and no upgrade offered.
Breakfast was in a room off the lobby due to renovation but we were satisfied with the offerings and ate, packed, checked out and were on our way early the next morning. Daytime staff much friendlier.
I would recommend but check for a weekend night as it might get crowded and noisy from the Syracuse U students and friends.
Took a short detour to the nearest Wegman's supermarket for fresh juice and bakery goods, well worth a stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeaganLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A dated property even though it's been "updated". Smokey aroma in the lobby and hallways, even though we were in a non-smoking room, it was on a floor with smoking rooms. Apparently no one told these folks that smoke travels. Very nice front desk service, but when the young lady called to be sure everything was ok with our rooms and I mentioned the smoke issue, her answer was "oh, I'm sorry" and nothing further was said or done.

I've never been to the Lowes or Home Depot class where they taught stapling wall paper. I'll have to look into that in the future, that must be the new trend?

Mattress was a 4 out of 10.

Good wifi, an acceptable breakfast and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Try another property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurinFegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuegirl, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello, thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and I am very sorry you were not impressed; we work very hard to maintain a clean, friendly hotel so it is distressing to hear you weren't happy. Yes, we still have a handful of smoking rooms but I am happy to tell you that as of January 1, 2013 we will be 100% non-smoking. As far as the mattress goes, I prefer a very firm mattress and my husband prefers soft so I can see how it is a challenge when you travel to have one that is just right! Glad you enjoyed breakfast and the wi-fi, I hope you'll stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I would agree with ms28 that "some" Comfort Inns are in need of TLC, but this one does not fall into that category. We were pleasantly surprised by the decor, cleanliness and welcoming staff at this hotel. Quite frankly, we hadn't expected this quality of property in this particular area. Our room was spotless and looked as if it had been recently renovated, carpet in hall areas was very new and clean -- bathroom was very spacious with lots of thick towels and excellent lighting. Convenient location -- easy thruway access and an excellent Italian restaurant (recommended) just around the circle. Congrats to management -- you're doing a fine job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuegirl, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! What a nice review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay. It really matters to us and the whole team is always appreciative when they hear that their hard work has paid off. We will look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Comfort Inns have gone down in quality considerably over the years, and this Comfort Inn is probably not much of an exception, but it does have a few nice elements worth mentioning.
- The wireless was very good and it was free. I felt it was better than many hotels where you have to pay for it, this was very fast, perhaps due to the fact that the hotel is somewhat isolated.
- Breakfast was adequate, they had a waffle bar if that's your thing. Plenty of Dunkin' Donuts are around if it's not. The coffee was decent.
- Manager was nice, called to see if our room was alright.
- TV is a nice new HD flatscreen.
- Bed was comfortable. We slept well.
- Parking was plentiful. Hotel seemed safe as it is sort of isolated.

Negatives: rooms are a little dated and, quite frankly, a little dingy. We didn't feel like the room was as clean as other reviewers' seemed to be; comforters needed to be washed and the bathtub needed to be scrubbed. The iron was permanently connected to the ironing board which was unusual and inconvenient. But none of this is to say the room was in bad shape. It certainly had been cleaned and we didn't find anything awful.

All in all, we booked this room off of Hotwire for a low rate, and overall we were quite satisfied. Although we weren't staying due to its proximity to the Thruway, this hotel is right off of the Thruway and is close to 481. Good value. I'd probably rate it 3.5/5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuegirl, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

very convenient to NYS thruway and Downtown is a short quick drive.
Lobby has just been renovated and is welcoming.
Desk staff was more than courteous, they were helpful;
providing a printed map and driving directions to our next stop.
Room was clean, had both an easy chair and a desk.
TV & remote worked and TV guide was current.
Bathroom clean but we could of used 2 more towels and the fan didn't work.
Bed not new but comfy. Room was surprisingly quiet for being close to road.
Free Breakfast was lovely, included scrambled eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, etc.
Coffee all day. Compared to the rates of other area hotels..
the rate we paid made staying here quite a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuegirl, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review, we really appreciate it! We may not be the newest hotel in the area but we work hard to be the cleanest and friendliest and to provide a great breakfast to start your day. So glad you like the new lobby renovations, we are just about done so it will be even better when you return and as soon the cold weather hits the cozy fireplace will be lit around the clock.
Thank you again and please come say hello when you return!
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the start of September. Our room was really big with two double beds which were so comfy and an excellent en suite with plenty of towels. The room was spotlessly clean and I'm very fussy about cleanliness but had no complaints at all. We had breakfast in the morning, it was in quite a small room and we had to wait for a table but I believe they're renovating the dining area so that's understandable. I would definitely stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shuegirl, General Manager at Comfort Inn Carrier Circle, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your awesome review, I really appreciate your kind words! We definitely are lucky to have such spacious rooms and the team works very hard to keep them clean and in good condition. Sorry you had to wait for a table for breakfast but we have added many more tables and chairs and you will really like them when you come back, the new furniture is really pretty. Thank you again and thank you for your patience during the reno,
Sincerely,
Kathy Shue, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
Red Roof Inn Syracuse
#15 of 32 in Syracuse
446 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 32 in Syracuse
421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carrier Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carrier Circle

Property: Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Address: 6491 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206-1409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carrier Circle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Exit 35 off the NYS Thruway (I-90) this 100% Non-smoking hotel features; complimentary hot breakfast buffet, business center, fitness center and free high speed wireless Internet. Our central location puts all of Syracuse at your fingertips, minutes from LeMoyne College, Syracuse University, downtown and the new Destiny USA. We always have a comfortable clean room waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carrier Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Syracuse Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing