We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to SU campus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to SU campus”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Syracuse University campus, so it is in the center of all student hangouts. Room was nice, large, quiet, and clean. Bathroom was fine with all amenities. Very comfortable stay. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOE-KTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Services at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi KOE-KTO,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to Syracuse and your stay with the Sheraton. We do love our location being on the heart of Syracuse University's campus, with the campus eateries and shopping directly across the street from us. It defiantly helps to give our guest the campus feel. We're also glad that you enjoyed your room, and the amenities in which we offer.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Syracuse. Once again thank you.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    192
    49
    16
    7
See reviews for
165
35
24
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I stopped in Syracuse on our way driving up to Canada. As a Starwoods member, I booked the Sheraton in Syracuse and was pleasantly surprised and impressed with the quality of hotels. The hotel is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed and the beds were extremely comfortable. They even provided bath robes, which is always a fantastic addition! We did not visit the pool or other amenities, but based on the cleanliness of the lobby and rooms, I would imagine they would be excellent as well.

In some, while you're not in the lap of luxury, you are in a clean, comfortable, and family-friendly hotel. Cannot go wrong and I will stay here again the next time I do a stop over in Syracuse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Service Agent at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Sara M,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while in Syracuse. We're glad that we not only met but exceeded your expectations when it came to the cleanliness of our property, and that you enjoyed the beds within the room. The beds are what the Sheraton brand is known for, they are our Sheraton sweet sleeper bed. So good to hear you were able to relax before finishing your trip!

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the Syracuse area.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Sheraton over a dozen times in the last four years.. If your child is considering Syracuse University I highly recommend you stay at the Sheraton for the full campus experience. Once you park you do not have drive again to get anywhere on campus (including dome for games). The hotel is very pricey for Family weekend and graduation (which you have to win a lottery to stay) but all the other weekends are reasonably priced. The staff is wonderful, Rachels bar (which was recently renovated) and their restaurant all have delicious food and drinks. Our daughter graduated this year...We will miss our stays at the Sheraton...Our greatest appreciation to the staff (especially Jane who always had a warm welcome for us)

Room Tip: Queen Parlor is very spacious..or a room with a view of the campus always nice to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AddictedToTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Service Agent at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello AddictedToTravel01,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your previous stays with us. We can't thank you enough for your loyalty in continuing to choose to stay with us while your daughter attended Syracuse. We're Glad to hear that over the last four years our staff has been welcoming and accommodating, and that you have enjoyed the transformation of our restaurant outlets and rooms through our renovations.

We wish your daughter well in her future endeavors, and we hope to see you again if your travels ever bring you back to Syracuse. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Close to downtown and M Street, this is a modern hotel with all of the amenities. The kids loved the pool. The hotel is a short block or 2 walk from M Street which houses multiple restaurants and coffee shops. The Sheraton is also a quick 10 minute drive to the Destiny USA Shopping complex. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RASMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Service Agent at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello RASMAN,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We're happy to hear that you had a great visit to Syracuse. We're glad that your family enjoyed our pool as well as the other amenities that we have to offer. We do have a great location in Syracuse, where we are really does allow our guest to experience the campus area and Marshall street as well as the downtown district.

Once again thank you, and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates,
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the only hotel around the university and the university hospitals. You really dont have any other choices. And the price for this hotel reflects that. I bit over priced for the age and condition of the hotel. It is a nice hotel and in decent shape, but not new or perfect by a long shot. The price to stay here is a rate that would be more along the lines of a much nicer hotel. In addition to that you have to pay for parking as well. Service is great and hotel is good. I would stay again but if they ever get competition in this area, they will have to come down on their prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
261 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I knocked it down a star because both rooms i was in showed some very obvious wear and tear that could use a refurb, but the majority of the room details and aspects of the hotel are very nice. The staff at the front desk were also super helpful, even when I lost my room key at an odd hour of the night.

Convenience has always been the prime reason to book here. It's the single most convenient place to stay if you're visiting the SU campus...not to mention the great views from the hotel. The free shuttle service to and from the airport also is a huge help.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HouCuseChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Service Agent at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello HouCuseChickie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We feel that we do have a great location here on the campus of Syracuse University, right in the heart of all the campus activity, with the college restaurants and shopping right across the street from us. Glad to hear that our front desk agents were friendly and helpful, and that you were able to utilize our hotel shuttle service.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Syracuse.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is an excellent hotel located on the campus of Syracuse University. There are numerous amenities which exceed the normal offerings of a Sheraton Hotel. The 9th floor club room is well equipped with a computer and excellent food offerings in the morning and afternoon. The newly re-decorated rooms are comfortable. It is the best place to stay in Syracuse.

Room Tip: If you are attending a sporting event at the fabled Carrier Dome,this is a must have reservation. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Guest Service Agent at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Dick T,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself throughout your stay. We feel we have a great location on the campus of Syracuse University, with local restaurants and shopping right outside our front door. Happy to hear that you were able to utilize our club level, and club lounge during your stay. The club lounge is one of Sheraton's key brand elements, hoping to make your stay that much more comfortable and relaxed.

Thank you again, and we hope that you will choose Sheraton again, if your travels bring you back to Syracuse.

Sincerely,
Michael Gates
Guest Service Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.9 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 32 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 32 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 32 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#15 of 32 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 801 University Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center. Located on the scenic campus of Syracuse University, we'll keep you close and connected to the best of Central New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel Syracuse
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel And Conference Center
Syracuse Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing