We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We chose this hotel because we were going on a college tour of SU. The location can't be beat. It is right on the campus and close to many local restaurants.

We arrived at noon and were able to check in. Our room (#519) was clean and comfortable. We had a nice view of the college. The only negative thing I can say is the walls are paper thin. You can hear your 'neighbors'.

The parking garage was convenient. It was a flat charge of $15.00 no matter how many times you enter or leave the garage.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear stevesing121,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Syracuse University. As you noted we are located on campus and within walking distance to the admissions office. I am glad you will be back - we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 423 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am a frequent Starwood traveler and I appreciate when service is above and beyond expectations. I have stayed at this property, Located in the center of Syracuse Universities gorgeous campus, many times previously and have always been treated beautifully. I was however apprehensive regarding the weekend of 2/22 - 2/24 because of the Syracuse Men's Basketball game vs Georgetown. I must say, even with a completely packed house, each and every staff member attended to my every need. I had forgot some toiletries and neededy e extra, to which service express promptly delivered. Also, they provided excellent tips on local attractions including extremely easy access to Marshall Street. The management of the hotel accommodated my every request, even booking rooms extremely close together on a 100% occupancy weekend. Gina, at check-in, made the entire trip, accommodating for my 3 guests arriving at different times. If you are coming to Syracuse, make it the Sheraton at Syracuse University. Two Thumbs Up!!

Room Tip: Ask for a campus facing room for beatutiful views of the quad, hall of languages, and DOME.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Joseph S:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your visit and thank you for mentioning how great the service was, despite the the fact it was a "BIG" weekend here in Syracuse.

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton - we appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you soon! GO ORANGE!

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Dir of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited University of Syracuse for a college tour. The hotel is right on campus and very convenient to the school as well as local restaurants. Once we parked in the hotel, we no longer had to move the car ( which is great because it snowed alot). We did not eat on the property but the rooms were very nice and the staff very accommodating. Would definitely return if I have another occasion to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennytwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Kennytwins:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Syracuse. Thank you for mentioning that we are very convenient for college visits, as admissions is right across the street. Not having to move the car is certainly a nice feature that we offer.

Good Luck with your colege search and with any luck - you will be visiting us more often!!

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Dir. of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have attended a half dozen meetings at the conference center over the last year, and the staff have been consistently courteous and efficient. The food was delicious, and the facility easily accommodated the 100+ members of our group.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Evan G:

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent events at the Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel and Conference Center. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests and I am glad that your meetings were a success. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This property offers all the amenities and courtesies! We were met in the lobby by several employees moving swiflty attending to their duties but, to a person, we were greeted with a warm smile and "hello". The front desk sought to situate us in a room that overlooks a specific Syracuse site (sentimental reasons!) and could not have been nicer. Our room was clean, spacious and bright - the bed comfortable and the shower pleasantly powerful. We had drinks in the bar where we found a happy crowd (Syracuse University's basketball team was winning) and friendly service. We did not eat in the restaurant this visit but had enjoyed a Sunday brunch previously - it is pricey but worth it. The hotel is right on the Syracuse University campus, within walking distance of the commmercial Marshall St and is just plain fun. On site parking - always a welcome bonus - is no frills but certainly adequate. We stay at Sheratons as well as other hotels in our travels - this property ranks with the best of them and we've recommended it to friends in the past.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Linda B.

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at the Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel. We certainly appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Director of Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I travel on a weekly basis for my job and have stayed in many hotels. Sheraton Syracuse has just been ranked number 1 in the worst hotel listing in my books. Last night, went to use rest room, and to my shock and surprise, notice to BIG COCKROACHES there. I mean I had never seen that big cockroaches here in the US before. Made me think whats the cleanliness situation of bed I sleep in or the comforter I use at the hotel
Plus the staff is extremely rude. Despite of my Platinum Ambassador Guest status with Starwoods, I did not receive the usual amenities. NEVER STAYING AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Ali K:

We read with great interest and concern your comments regarding your recent stay. We do value the feedback of all of our guests and we are sincerely sorry to learn of the problems you experienced. I do respect your decision to stay elsewhere during your work in Syracuse. However, if you change your mind or wish to discuss the matter further, please feel free to contact me or our Hotel General Manager directly. We are committed to ensuring a much more welcoming experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Been here for business several times, same deal each time. Just not the good kind of reproducibility. Indeed, a dated property with cosmetic updates. It appears very clean, and the carpets are immaculate compared to other hotels--which is usually a really good sign in a hotel--but, bottom line, nothing really works here. GOTCHA!

You arrive at the airport and there's a free shuttle offered, but they don't advertise on the courtesy board and by the time they get out there on demand, you can be there by taxi. So it's free, nominally, but in reality GOTCHA!

You check in and then leave the spacious lobby and go upstairs to the floor wing exposed to the wind. So your room is whistling all the time. OK, I can live with that, the weather's not their fault. But then you realize after a while that the temperature is extreme in the room and the fan is running hard, but the controls won't do anything.GOTCHA!

Then you fire up your laptop to get on to the free Wifi. The computer finds a strong radio signal, but you futz forever trying to get the thing to actually connect. Turns out, if you go to the lobby or use the computer late at night, it's OK but good luck any other time. GOTCHA!

The lobby and meeting areas seem to be perennially filled with students from the college just hanging out, seems like it's a supplement to the campus library. GOTCHA, unless that's what you came here for.

Try making a call with the landline in your room. Look real quick for a notice of free 800 calls, don't see any kind of notice, figure you're OK or small fee. Pick up the phone and futz with the difficult buttons to dial. Enjoy your bill when it's $2 for even the shortest 800 number called. GOTCHA.

Bottom line, if you need a hotel that makes your arrival experience with their airport shuttle easy, a comfortable room that does not have major noise or climate control problems, working internet, or reasonable incidental fees, go elsewhere, as I suspect most business travelers will. If you need a place on campus and just to sleep for something in town on a weekend, you'll likely be OK if you get the room at a good price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler99Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear traveler99Michigan:

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to learn of all the problems you experienced.

In December we upgraded our wifi service in an attempt to provide our guests greater bandwidth and better address the needs of today's wireless technology. However we have experienced some sporadic challenges. We are working with the vendor to ensure that this addressed as quickly as possible.

I am sorry that you felt you were being taken advantage of when using our telephone service. That certainly was not our intention. The charges are listed on a card placed on the desk. It is possible that the card may have been missing when you looked. I will follow up with housekeeping as a general reminder.

I am somewhat confused about your comments related to the students. As a member of the University community we often welcome students attending events at the hotel. Last week, there was an orientation event that was taking place in the hotel. I apologize if you were inconvenienced by their presence in the hotel. I can assure you we expect appropriate behavior from all of our guests and we have procedures in place to monitor this. However, we are not the library and like all visitors we do not allow loitering in our lobby or other places.

Again - I do thank you for your feedback. We take this very seriously and I have shared your comments with the entire management team in an attempt to improve any deficiencies our guests experience.

If I can be of further assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Julie Martin
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
720 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
437 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.9 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 801 University Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $152 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center. Located on the scenic campus of Syracuse University, we'll keep you close and connected to the best of Central New York. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle to/from Syracuse Hancock International Airport. Our recently renovated rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Enjoy the heated, indoor pool, sauna and 24-hour fitness center. Two great onsite restaurants; Rachel's and Sitrus on the Hill both serving cocktails and delicious entrees (room service available). Host a meeting or special event in our IACC Certified Conference Center with over 10,000 sq. ft. of versatile space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing