We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in January 2012 at he beginning of a longish vacation. Actually, we've stayed here several times over the years and have always enjoyed our stay. It's conveniently located on the campus of Syracuse University and only a few minutes drive from the exit on I-81. There was a bit of construction in the lobby - they were rebuilding their reception desk area - but it was all very neat and clean. The rooms are a good size and very clean. If you're on the Club level floor or are an SPG Platinum, you will have access to their club lounge where they serve snacks and drinks every evening. The area is quiet, there is a self-parking garage adjacent to the hotel and several restaurants nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garykmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hi garykmcd,

Welcome back to the Sheraton Syracuse and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned in your review, we were in the midst of renovating our lobby and the good news is that we're done with our new reception desk to welcome you back to. Thank you for your great feedback and we truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and Starwood Hotels and Resorts!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 421 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed one night. Close to hospital and university. Easy access to highway. Hotel is a little dated. Kept very clean and staff was very helpful. Parking was an extra $13 for overnight. A number of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseyposey133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear roseyposey133,

Thank you for your recent comments on the Sheraton Syracuse. We appreciate the feedback and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Syracuse!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel was perfect for what we needed. The rooms are a good size, the beds and pillow super comfortable, staff is courteous, and room clean. Most importantly, the location is ideal if you are visiting Syracuse University as it is right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hello Agouti,

Thank you for the positive comments on your most recent stay with us! I've shared your feedback with the entire team at the Sheraton Syracuse and we're glad that we made your stay a "perfect occasion". I agree with you that our location is IDEAL when visiting Syracuse University, and we hope to be your home away from home when you come to visit SU in the future!

Thanks again for the great feedback!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at this Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel and Conference Center one night for our Anniversary. They upgraded us for free to a Club Level room which was absolutely Gorgeous!! We visited the Club Lounge for both the evening reception and breakfast in the morning. We used the pool and the Sauna and my husband used the fitness center and was very impressed. We would definately stay there again. Its pretty much in the center of the Syracuse University Area and Marshall Street and a bunch of restaurants and stores are right acoss the street. We could see the Carrier Dome from our window on the 9th floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Hello mlanders,

First and foremost, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! We're glad that you shared your special day with us and ecstatic that we exceeded your expectations. We truly appreciate the great comments and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel is up-to-date, comfy, and is staffed with cheerful, friendly people. But if there's a big game at the Dome up the road, be prepared for rambunctious students and fans. The third floor is actually used as student housing, which probably doesn't help. Also, the restaurant is nothing to write home about (I'm being kind) and the lobby bar went coldly mod after demolishing a ratty but beloved sports bar. (This disappointed our bitter, sobbing contingent.)

Room Tip: Pray for a room far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear Steeroyo,

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is certainly understandable given the experience you described and I've shared them with the rest of our management team. Overall, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, however its disappointing to hear that you did not like our new bar "Sitrus on the Hill". As you mentioned in your review, our previous bar needed a renovation and we gave it an entire facelift with a new name and theme. We've received great comments and praise from the Syracuse community and guests on the new decor and menu, but I can understand that our previous bar had some character to it that people will miss. We appreciate the valuable feedback and we hope see you again if your travels bring you back to Syracuse!

Go Orange!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

not the nicest sheraton in the world but nonetheless comfortable. Kind of dissapointing when your Platinum members can't get a king size bed but overall hotel is nice and convenient location wise.
Will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eweinz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Hello eweinz22,

My sincere apologies for the late reply. First and foremost, thank you for the great feedback on your most recent stay with us. We're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay, however I am disappointed that we were not able to accomodate your bed request upon check-in. The next time your in Syracuse, please do not hesistate to contact me and I will make sure we fullfill all of your requests. Thank you once again for the helpful comments and we hope to see you in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel is under repair, and in desperate need of it. Elevators that stopped working, washrooms that were closed, and a smoke filled lobby were all features of our stay. The hallways were often filled with strong cooking smells, like a vent somewhere was broken.

This was the earliest I have ever had housekeeping knock on my door, just after 8 am. No we were not ready. Sorry. Thanks for the dirty look. To say that the hotel seemed understaffed and harried is an understatement. This extended to the front desk.

No coffee in the lobby in the morning. To get a cup of coffee, I was told I had to purchase the entire breakfast bar. No thanks.

However, the location of the hotel is excellent if Syracuse University is why you are there. One can walk to Carrier Dome in minutes. I'm not sure you can do much if any better, and stay anywhere near as close to the University

In summary, the worst Sheraton I have ever stayed at, and in need of repair it is apparently getting.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tantalum129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseHotelMgr, Manager at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear Tantalum129,

We appreciate the constructive feedback on your most recent stay with us. As you mentioned in your review, the hotel is under renovation and by April 2012, the hotel will complete a 5 million dollar restoration on the property. In the final phase of this project, we are restoring all of our elevator cabs and lobby restrooms. As for the ventilation of the building, we have completed one section of this repair about a year ago and we will commence on the next section of this project in Q2 of this year. We hope you get to experience our new, revitalized product in the Spring. Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to better serve you in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
2 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.4 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 801 University Ave, Syracuse, NY 13210-1720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $151 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center. Located on the scenic campus of Syracuse University, we'll keep you close and connected to the best of Central New York. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle to/from Syracuse Hancock International Airport. Our recently renovated rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Enjoy the heated, indoor pool, sauna and 24-hour fitness center. Two great onsite restaurants; Rachel's and Sitrus on the Hill both serving cocktails and delicious entrees (room service available). Host a meeting or special event in our IACC Certified Conference Center with over 10,000 sq. ft. of versatile space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel Syracuse
Syracuse Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing