We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad air conditioning and rooms that smell like smokers”
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
NY
1 review
“bad air conditioning and rooms that smell like smokers”
Reviewed September 19, 2007

I stayed here several times while interviewing at SUNY. The rooms are quite nice and the desk and bed are lovely. The parking structure is somewhat scary at night and everytime the non-smoking room smelled of smoke. The air conditioning is old and turns off when you leave the room so it never gets very cold. After one night that it didn't work at all, they promised it was fixed and then I had to move to a room at three in the morning when I had to interview all the next day. Desk staff seem relatively unable to problem solve, the hallways noise is bad and the elevators are incredibly slow. They had several large noisy groups while I was there. But it is very convenient to get to SUNY and SU.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bad airconditioning, smells like smoke
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newbee2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    261
    141
    70
    51
See reviews for
174
143
43
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We were stopping through on the way to Niagara Falls and figured we would be safe choosing from the Renaissance chain. We arrived late at night - the night staff was not interested in being helpful or friendly. Signs everywhere remind guests that it's a non-smoking hotel, yet our room smelled distinctly of cigarettes. On first glance, the room looks OK, but then you smell it, you see the freeway outside, and you see the signs or wear and tear that no one has bothered to replace.
If it weren't so late and if we had any idea where we were, we would have left.
I left the room to get a soda (vending machines are on alternate floors) and got into a different elevator than the one we took to the room. The elevator interior floor and walls were splashed with liquid of some sort and smelled awful.
We would absolutely never stay there again and would never recommend the hotel to anyone. In fact, it's tarnished my impression of the Renaissance chain (we have a nice one near our home).

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I was totally fooled by the website (and I'm a Marriott Gold Elite member!!!) -- shame on me.

Hotel is literally 50 feet from a major interstate highway. We heard trucks all night long -- not pleasant at 3 AM when tractor trailer trucks are roaring outside your window.

Hotel is rundown and rooms are a bit shabby. We are NOT neat freaks but I do expect a room to be vacuumed once a month.

Very nice people at the front desk, but do yourself a favor and avoid the disappointment of a tired hotel with rundown furnishings located just yards away from a major highway.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fairdealRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery AL
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Judging by the exterior, you'd think this hotel would be a run-down, 1970's experience, but it's not. Actually, I think it as among the VERY BEST experiences I've had at a chain hotel.

The room interiors are very hip.

My room had a nice, large TV right above the desk.

The bed was great and the room was very clean.

I spoke only with one staffer, a college-aged kid at the desk, but he was very competent and service-oriented.

No problems at all. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Liked — Hip decor, clean
  • Disliked — Syracuse is not that attractive a city
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

I paid extra for the Concierge Room access (2nd floor) but it wasn't worth it. They had very little food, hot or cold, in the evening or morning. Cheaper to get room service for breakfast. Drinks very expensive in this club room and added to bill by the gal in charge.

Pet friendly hotel, nice lobby, friendly staff. Parking free, very close. Room very small, but liked the LCD WS TV and internet setup in the corner. Internet charge was $10 a night so didn't use. TV didn't work without calling maintenance.

Bathroom/shower (no bath) room was very small and uncomfortable. Wash basin outside in bedroom. Room service fair - my sirloin steak was tough...but my dog loved it. King bed was comfortable ... lighting was strange.

  • Liked — Pet friendly
  • Disliked — Club room had poor food selection or variety. Hotel difficult to find.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank MunnyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown,NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

My friend and I have stayed ay this hotel many times and always find ourselves enjoying a drink or two at the lounge. You meet many different folks from many places . Recently , we met 2 Australian fellows and a woman on a curling team.... Fun and nice.

Helpful?
Thank Jews-son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

My husband, preschooler, and I really enjoyed our weekend here (booked on Hotwire - fantastic deal - and we were treated at all times like 'regular full fee guests'). Very easy to get in and out of from Interstate 81, in a reasonable (but pretty empty on a mid-March weekend) neighbourhood right next to two terrific cafés and a 15-minute walk uphill to the University, close to good Target, TJ Maxx, and Wegman's shopping out in Fayetteville (10 minutes drive), free parking, very friendly and helpful and generally knowledgeable staff who went the extra mile (despite some front desk confusion), and very cozy beds and trendy but cozy rooms. It's such a pleasure to be in an entirely non-smoking hotel (Marriott policy). We called in advance and asked for a room on the far side away from the highway and it was very quiet. Beds are terrific luxury and rooms well laid out for both work and relaxation. However, this hotel feels a bit like it's still trying to figure out what it wants to be and who to target. It's 4-star so one would expect all of the business amenities: but there is no one to take your bags to your room, there is little space to store anything in the rooms (no drawers, quite small closet), impossible to get the New York Times and hard to find the Wall Street Journal, no mini bar, no hotel shop for those emergencies and none within easy reach in this neighbourhood. Also small things missing: nowhere to hang towels or bathrobes, no fan in the bathroom thus lots of condensation in the rooms (black gooey mould in all of the corners of the windows), quite small desk surface. If you're travelling with a family, bring your own cot/sleeping mat because "we don't do cots" (quoting the reservations clerk). One of the best things about this hotel is the "Lucky Moon and Stars" Café, a few doors east, where we enjoyed delicious and healthy breakfasts and lunches and very good coffee in a comfy atmosphere with great service and prices. We would stay here again with pleasure.

  • Liked — coziness, helpful staff, quality of room fittings, cozy beds, cafés next door, easy parking, close to lots of activities
  • Disliked — air quality in the rooms / condensation, lack of small shop/newspapers, a bit compact
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BonjourduCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 32 in Syracuse
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.3 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#16 of 32 in Syracuse
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing