We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

From the outside, this place doesn't look very charming. However, the rooms were fantastic, modernly decorated and well sized. The bathroom is a bit small, but all that one needs. There's free WiFi Internet in the lobby and free parking on site.

The staff was really friendly. The only negative, is there's not much around, few restaurants and looks a bit scary at night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    261
    141
    70
    51
See reviews for
174
143
43
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel after a winning bid on priceline. It was a fantastic value for the price we paid.

Pros:
Champagne check-in.
Helpful staff.
Free Garage Parking.
Modern Decor.
Rain Shower.
Comfy bed with tons of pillows.
Funky shaped building- it's a circle so veiws from every room.
Less than a mile from Armory Square and easy access to all the major roads.

Cons:
We could hear I81 from the 12th floor.
The heating system was pretty loud and would kick on an off during the night.
Where's the mini bar?

All and all it was a great hotel for the money and we're looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Originally booked my reservation at Embassy Suites in the area. That property botched the reservation and its staff was unprofessional in addressing the problem, so I book this Renaissance property at the last minute. Turned out to be a very positive experience and I wish I had booked with them in the first place.

Pros and cons: The hotel is an older building but I understand that it has been undergoing renovations for 1-2 years, and it looks good. It is one of those circular hotel designs and my feeble sense of direction was at times challenged. The rooms are of decent size, small bathrooms but nice amenities and, importantly, very comfortable beds. Also worth noting: I found my room and overall property to be very clean when I was there. As with older properties, be prepared to wait for an elevator during peak use periods. One issue: The hotel is next to a major highway. This will cause noise if you are booked by that side, (as I was), but I was able to control that by running the room fan as steady background sound. However, you will want to be aware of the highway just the same.

What I really liked about this place: The staff were on the ball, very professional, knowledgeable, and welcoming. In particular, I want to single out their evening floor manager, Josh, for his responsiveness and attentiveness. People seemed to enjoy working here. The bar and restaurant were pretty decent, I was able to relax in the lobby and the meals were good. Just this experience would make me look into booking here again for a future business trip. Other hotels in the area may want to use the Renaissance as a model of what hospitality represents.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on April 23-25th.

Check in:
It was quick and pleasant, the hotel was at full capacity and they were not able to change my room selections from a King to a Double. They did offer to send me a cot (which ended up being a twin bed). The doorman was really friendly and helpful

Room:

Was clean and spacious and love the flat panel tv :) The bed is really comfortable, just like home and the pillow were great. The bathroom was modern looking but a bit ont he small size. It did not bother me though.

Room services:

I had to call twice to have them bring the cot but it did finally arrive.

Restaurant:

We ate at the lounge and the atmosphere is really cozt, you sit in huge comfy chairs. it was relaxing and really enjoyed it after a 5 hours drive. We had the Hamburger and it was sooo yummy and the portion was huge. The server was really friendly and the service was great! I recommend eating there

The only negative was the room service and the elevator but that is probably because th e hotel was at full capacity and a few weddings/conferences going on.

Next time I visit Syracuse I will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed at the Renaissance during the recent NCAA tournament. I understand the hotel was booked to capacity but that is no excuse for bad service. We checked in early after flying all night and were excited that the room was ready. We left the hotel shortly after check in for the game. When we returned there had not been a turn down service. When I called downstairs to ask about it, they said they should have turned down the room. I asked for towels and they said they would send them straight up. 1.5 hours later, I went to the front desk to ask for towels, and was told housekeeping was gone and they would have to find them! 45 minutes later, we got towels to take a shower in the filthy shower. Where there was suppose to be grout, there was mildew.
We were told there was a shuttle and we were told there was not shuttle. It was just to confusing... Glad we were only there for a day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel twice. I love the way the rooms are laid out and decorated -- truly first-class. The beds are really comfy too. Staff are friendly and courteous (they offered me a free glass of champagne upon arrival). It's a little pricey if you book at regular rates but there are usually excellent deals on Priceline for weekend stays. The Strong Hearts cafe, just a few doors down the street, is an excellent place to get a late-night vegan meal or an all-day vegan breakfast. Parking is always free, and for my most recent stay the wi-fi was free too (not sure why -- I think it usually costs $13/night).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed here for one night with my wife during the Valentines Day weekend. We went primarily to do some shopping, but we wanted something downtown so we could go out for dinner. When we checked in we were offered sparkling wine and chocolate which was a nice touch. The hotel room itself was a little odd; it's a round building so the room had no outside corners. There was no bath tub, just a walk in shower with a glass door with a shower head that was fixed to the ceiling. There was a 32" flat screen TV and a nice work area in our room and the bed was very comfortable.

I have to agree with some of the other reviews that having only two small, rather slow moving elevators isn't enough. For a one night stay it's not a big deal, but if you are staying for an extended period of time it may be a bit of a nuisance.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and we would stay at the Renaissance again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRichOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 32 in Syracuse
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.3 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#16 of 32 in Syracuse
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing