We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service.”
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed April 4, 2009

One of a half dozen or so tall, circular hotels that was built in the late 1960s around the USA. Hotel has been totally remodeled and tastefully decorated and now managed by Marriott. The rooms are small but nicely appointed with good bedding. My room was on the interstate highway side and VERY noisy. Perhaps it would have been quieter on the other side or higher up.

The staff was very professional, cordial and accommodating. The breakfast was typical of Marriott's Courtyards if not a bit more upscale. I had room service one evening and delivery was prompt and the food was very good.

The hotel is located in a creepy part of Syracuse so nightly walks were out of the question. Free parking is provided in a seemingly secure and adjacent parking garage.

Internet service was provided for a fee and very sluggish. I paid for it one day, but used the business service office from then on to retrieve my e-mail because it was so slow.

Nice bar and lobby area to meet friends or business associates.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 703 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2009

syracuse was unknown to us so hard to judge even with trip advisor. The front desk staff, especially, Nicole, excellent. Parking garage, nightmare, had cargo van, would not fit, parked by side of garage. Odd area, can not imagine why originally anyone would put hotel here. Elevators were fine, no wait. Hotel decorator in time warp but so is building. Rooms on surface fine but don't look deeper. Shower wonderfully bizarre and with no option but to wash hair! Room service staff are excellent. Library Lounge staff way too busy, every few minutes, cheese/fruit platter , old, wrinkled grapes and a few slices of cheese. Drinks automatically charged for premium not regular and irish coffee was told " Sorry, Hon, just ran out of cream ". Ran out of cream? either real or from a can with a touted restaurant, Redfield's on premises. I truly doubt it. Can not commend lounge staff or hotel overall. Paying for internet, antiquated but not charming.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I stayed at this hotel back in April '08. Had no problems whatsoever. The room was gorgeous, with contemporary furnishings. The room was large and very clean, the bed was comfortable, and I found my room quiet. I had drinks at the bar, and the bartender was very friendly, and made an awesome Cosmopolitan. This hotel is not real close to anything, however their shuttle service will drop you. We had tickets to a hockey game, and the shuttle driver dropped us off at a nearby restaurant prior to the game.
Excellent customer service from everyone that I encountered at this hotel. I also accessed the wireless internet, and had no problems with that. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This was absolutely the best hotel stay that we have ever experienced. The front desk staff was very friendly and accomadating and if we had any request they called to make sure that our request had been met. Everything was very clean and the atmosphere was pleasant. We especially loved the doorman, he was so friendly and he made us feel that we were home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

I would not recommend this hotel. Our room was weirdly damp/humid (strange because it was February.) There only seem to be two elevators, and there was always a very long wait -- we finally just started taking the stairs even though we were on the 11th floor. There didn't seem to be much nearby (except for a noisy highway). They messed up our room-service breakfast order, and the in-room movie thing was broken. In general, it was just not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWalterWeatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

First, iIwould echo most of the negatives that are mentioned in other reviews. The neighborhood didn't seem to be too nice, but we just drove into and out of the free parking garage, so that didn't affect us at all. Only having 2 elevators made for long waits; the TV's mentioned in other reviews weren't on/working, so they didn't help.

Ultimately, the room is what matters most. Ours was kind of small, especially the bathroom. The raindrop shower was nice, except for there was only a fixed partition for half of it. The other half was open(no sliding enclosure), meaning that water splashed out onto the bathroom floor whenever you showered.

Our room faced the highway, making for a noisy stay. We asked for a room on the opposite side of the hotel, but we were told there weren't any available. The curtains didn't extend down far enough, meaning too much light came into the room in the morning. The furnishings were generally nice, but the carpet had definitely seen better days.

Overall, not a terrible hotel But it's the details that make the difference when staying at a "nicer" hotel, and this one just didn't cut it. We also apparently made a mistake by reserving our room online through Marriot, since other reviewers here paid much less than the $149 we paid for a king. Regardless, we have stayed at much nicer places, some by Marriot, for that price(or less). We will definitely look elsewhere the next time we stay in Syracuse.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cuse_fan_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

The Renaissance probably needs a little work, but after reading some of the other reviews, I had to wonder where these people were staying. For the most part, staff was polite and helpful, opening doors, etc. We did have a couple of minor issues at the breakfast buffet, but nothing that wasn't rectified quickly.
The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!!
The rainfall shower needed to have more water pressure to make it worthwhile. The rooms are small but well equipped. The elevators are slow but as I was on the 4th floor, I rarely used them.
The only real downfall (in my opinion) is the hotel's location. I know you can walk to shopping, restaurants, etc but it would be nice if there was something closer.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PMedMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.3 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
428 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $106 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing