We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't stay there again”
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed February 16, 2009

First, iIwould echo most of the negatives that are mentioned in other reviews. The neighborhood didn't seem to be too nice, but we just drove into and out of the free parking garage, so that didn't affect us at all. Only having 2 elevators made for long waits; the TV's mentioned in other reviews weren't on/working, so they didn't help.

Ultimately, the room is what matters most. Ours was kind of small, especially the bathroom. The raindrop shower was nice, except for there was only a fixed partition for half of it. The other half was open(no sliding enclosure), meaning that water splashed out onto the bathroom floor whenever you showered.

Our room faced the highway, making for a noisy stay. We asked for a room on the opposite side of the hotel, but we were told there weren't any available. The curtains didn't extend down far enough, meaning too much light came into the room in the morning. The furnishings were generally nice, but the carpet had definitely seen better days.

Overall, not a terrible hotel But it's the details that make the difference when staying at a "nicer" hotel, and this one just didn't cut it. We also apparently made a mistake by reserving our room online through Marriot, since other reviewers here paid much less than the $149 we paid for a king. Regardless, we have stayed at much nicer places, some by Marriot, for that price(or less). We will definitely look elsewhere the next time we stay in Syracuse.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cuse_fan_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 721 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2009

The Renaissance probably needs a little work, but after reading some of the other reviews, I had to wonder where these people were staying. For the most part, staff was polite and helpful, opening doors, etc. We did have a couple of minor issues at the breakfast buffet, but nothing that wasn't rectified quickly.
The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!!
The rainfall shower needed to have more water pressure to make it worthwhile. The rooms are small but well equipped. The elevators are slow but as I was on the 4th floor, I rarely used them.
The only real downfall (in my opinion) is the hotel's location. I know you can walk to shopping, restaurants, etc but it would be nice if there was something closer.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PMedMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed at the Rennaisance Hotel in Syracuse during a college visit road trip. We couldn't get a room in Ithaca, because it was graduation weekend, so we stayed in Syracuse. Only a little more than an hour from Cornell. Less expensive than a Comfort Inn in Ithaca!

The hotel room was georgeous inside, completely redone in classy business style, marble bath etc. Flat screen TV. Although, we had problems with the network/internet access at the time. Nice work space. Very clean.

The hotel staff were very cooperative when we asked for alternative restaurants.

Self-parking was easy. Easy check-in/out.

Overall, a great stay. I wish I had a reason to come back to Syracuse so I could stay again.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Genochemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

A few weeks ago my boyfriend and I joined our friends in Syracuse for a Homecoming reunion. We all booked rooms at the Renaissance (which used to be the Marx) and were very excited about finally staying there. The rooms were cramped, they should never have tried to put 2 double beds into a room that size and the walls and bathroom door were so thin it made me wonder why they bothered. The bathroom appeared to be very modern and swank but I found myself longing for my regular showerhead instead of the rain one that could barely wash the shampoo out of my hair. The room itself looked nice and there was a nice flat screen and an ample workspace but this did not make up for the cramped and noisy conditions. The hotel itself had a friendly staff and was always clean but plan on giving yourself an additional 10-20 minutes from leaving your room to arriving somewhere because of the SLOW elevators (they only have 2 for 20 floors). Lastly, the maid stole my boyfriend's iPod and although the front desk staff was very apologetic nothing was done. I will never in my life give this hotel business and will seriously consider ever staying at a Marriot again because I was so turned off by the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This hotel is filthy. Elevator filled with trash and food. Carpet pieces missing from room floor. Vomit and food stains all over the door and walls under the room windows. We had booked a stay for 2 nights but left after one.

It is surrounded by an area of boarded up buildings. A car in the parking lot had been vandalized during our stay.

Marriott should be ashamed of the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

The elevators are the dominant feature of this 20(?) story hotel; there are just two of them for guests, slow, cantankerous, NOT computer controlled (they often go up and down together, both opening on every floor where someone has pushed the call button, rather than working together). It really degrades the whole stay experience, as you have to plan on a 5 to 10 minute wait for the elevator each time you go to or come from your room.

The hotel is round, so the rooms themselves are pie shaped and rather small, although well-furnished and ours was comfortable. The shower looked very good, but the 'rainfall' showerhead did not live up to its promise. We were with a wedding party, and heard that some rooms were NOT well furnished; ours was fine. The staff was responsive and tried to be helpful, but could do nothing about the elevators. There is also a service elevator, but the maintenance and cleaning staffs were constantly using the guest elevators, even to go one or two floors, which made that situation worse.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank countFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed one night in August at this hotel, first time there. I thought all in all it was a nice place to stay. Staff was friendly, room was well appointed. Bathroom had no tub, shower only with kind of a cool rainfall effect.

Had dinner in restaurant, service was excellent, food was great, nice ambience overall.

Parking was free in garage and convenient. No issues.

One minus was the poor workout area, ended up going to Golds Gym about 5 miles away.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RobBflo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
535 reviews
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse Destiny USA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $99 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing