We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Location & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This was a good location. Went to the Syracuse game and the hotel on campus was sold out so this was a great option. Hotel provides a shuttle which was very convenient. Two restaurants on property which was great. Not much in the area if you are not driving, ask for room away from highway. Only small negative the bathroom was very very narrow and showers have no door just a piece of glass that does not slide.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Greetings tricia95,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure to pass along to our Chef and restaurant manager that you enjoyed the restaurants. Our bathrooms are quite unique, makes your stay more enjoyable. Hope to see you soon!

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    249
    136
    68
    47
See reviews for
164
135
42
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here due to the proximity to Syracuse University (15 minutes walking or 2 minutes driving). The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, but not overly outgoing. The hotel is good for business travelers, but probably not great for couples. I knew this hotel was located right next to the highway before I even booked here, but I was still surprised at the noise level inside the room. I got switched to the other side of the hotel, and it was a little quieter but I could still hear the traffic. The room was very nice, and had a comfortable bed, free Wi-Fi, good selection of TV channels including several movie channels, and a great rain shower head. I requested a room with a refrigerator, which came in handy. There are microwaves located on three floors in the hotel, which is nice but not exactly convenient if you aren't staying on that floor. Parking used to be free at this hotel, and they now charge $9 a night. This is not a huge charge, but something I wasn’t thrilled about. Overall I would stay here again, but not at full price (I booked through Priceline).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefflikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Greetings jefflikestravel,
Thank you so much for your review! Glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the amenities in the hotel (microwave). The shower heads are pretty awesome, they are so relaxing. Next time you come we will try and get you further away from the highway if you remember where you were last time. Hope to see you soon!
Kelly Carey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wanted a romantic weekend getaway for my husband's 50th birthday, booked through a cheap deal site, BIG MISTAKE. The hotel is right downtown in the seedier section. The hotel entrance was clean and our room was nice but no Wi-Fi in room, no pool or breakfast included. Very difficult to get around and to shopping. Front desk staff were rude at best.

Room Tip: All rooms have a terrible view, overlook the parking garage or on ramps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greetings Sandy S.,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review here on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay while you were with us. We do have a shuttle that is based upon availability, so maybe next time you stay with us we can take you to Destiny USA for some shopping. Hopefully next time you are in Syracuse you'll give us another chance.

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The quality of the hotel matched their promise and star rating.
Rooms were super clean. Showers are awesome.
Staff was very friendly and flexible to deal with.
Gym was nice and all equipments were in working condition.
Quality of air was clean.
Some people complained about noise. I could relate to it. But we got used to it very easily. It is closer to rte 81; can't expect any better.

Nice to have:
Parking should be included in the price. Wasn't much - 9$/day
Swimming pool would be nice to have. Since I had kids with me and they wanted to swim.

Room Tip: None. All is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdviceMyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Greetings AdviceMyTrips,
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor! So happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure to let the staff know! The showers are pretty cool! Hope to see you soon!

Kelly Carey --Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amenia, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My Mother and I were in Syracuse and needed a place to stay. We picked the Crown Plaza because of it's location. to the interstate and we could not have been happier. Wonderful service!!! The rooms were spotless. Everyone one that we came in contact with at the Crown Plaza were extremely pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjr1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello jjr1216,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with the Crowne Plaza! Next time you’re traveling through Syracuse, we hope to see you again!

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a indulgence that offers the value of location, price and comfort. This kind of combination rarely occurs. The views are incredible. The feel of the hotel is that of a big city property, but without the "haughtiness". We almost look for reasons to stay at the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great. Top floors have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Greetings Mike H,
Thank you taking time out to write a review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel itself! Hope to see you in the future!

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Crown Plaza in Dec. Upon checking in we were told the van could take us to the mall just call 15-20 before we wanted to go. I was ready to go to mall at 11:45,called down for the van service and was told the van could take me at 2:30 !!!! Seriously. That is pitiful service.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly C, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Greetings Jeanine O,
Thank you for your review about your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza. I am sorry that we were not able to take you to the mall when requested. The shuttle is based upon availability with airport trips being our number priority. Depending on the day and time we might have been at the airport and 230 would have been the very next time we could have taken you. I do hope that if you are ever in Syracuse you will give us a chance again.

Kelly Carey -- Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Syracuse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#16 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing