We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night day”
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent one night day”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Adjacent parking lot was convenient and still complimentary (the front desk informed us they would be charging a fee soon). Bed was comfortable and the rain shower was a plus. Stopped by the gym in the morning, it had all the essentials for a basic work-out. I was greeted by name upon checkout, kudos to Colleen for her sharp memory. All in all, a solid stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ObiKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Greetings ObiKwan,
Thank you for your review! Also, thank you for the shout out to Colleen, she is wonderful to have on our team! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again!

Best Regards,
Sarah Block
Business Transient Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    249
    137
    69
    51
See reviews for
166
136
42
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is clean, spacious with modern rooms and a comfortable bed. Front desk staff were very cheerful and the very helpful waitress in the hotel restaurant steered me away from an entree she didn't think was up to standards and bought me a glass of wine to boot.

The internet is in tiers, 1MB connection is free and you can buy up to 3MB for $7.95 a day. While the free internet wasn't particularly zippy, for light web browsing it's just fine.

The hotel is slightly off the beaten path with the disclaimer that a:) I really only explored in one direction and b:) I'm unfamiliar with the layout of Syracuse so take this with a grain of salt.

Overall, I had a pleasant stay and would absolutely stay agin

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mb24335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Greetings mb24335,
Thank you for your kind words and sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor! We are very pleased to hear you had a more than satisfactory stay with us. Please visit us again on your next trip to Syracuse!

Best Regards,
Sarah Block
Business Transient Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel. Was here June 11th-15th. They still have a wonky elevator system, but other than that, my stay was very enjoyable. Room was spacious and clean with a great view of the city. Bar staff and front desk personnel were very friendly and personable. Bar food was pretty good and there were plenty of flat screens to watch the NBA finals. The breakfast in the lounge was basic but did the trick. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotels2ndhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Greetings Hotels2ndhome,
Thank you for your dedication to our property! We understand our elevators are challenging at times, but the system does have a meaningful purpose. Once you press your floor number, it will tell you which cart will get you to your designated floor the fastest. Having twenty floors with only three elevator carts during our busy season can cause a little bit of a wait, but we hope it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you. We look forward to your return to us here at the Crowne Plaza in Syracuse!

Best Regards,
Sarah Block
Business Transient Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while I was in the area on work. It is about a 10 min drive from the airport and is right on the motorway network so very handy. I was 'upgraded' to the Executive Rooms by virtue of having Platinum Ambasador with the Priority Club loyalty programme.

The room, as everyone has said, it a slightly odd shape - when you get into the room the size was fine (I had 2 queen beds) but getting in the door feels a bit snug and you are on top of your neighbours door. The room was modern and had all the amienities you could want. The bathroom was very modern and had a nice rain shower. The bed was very comfy and there was a fridge that you could put stuff into should you wish.

All sounds great but I had 2 issues - you can hear everything in the next room - my neighbour had their TV on (normal loudness) but I could hear everything - I actually checked to see if the connecting door was ajar it was that lound! The second is the fancy lifts - great to get up and down but they beep constantly - like a hearing test! It drove me insane! Oh there was a third - the air conditioning is VERY loud!!

The bar is good and the barman super friendly. I ate in there one night and the food was superb - plus you can get the menu from the restaurant next door too so a good selection.

I do love Crowne Plazas and this one asthetically is great - but they need to sort out the noise issue!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aks120LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings aks120LasVegas,
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor! I am sorry to hear about the noise discrepancies, we are happy that you brought this to our attention as all feedback helps us strive to become a better hotel for our guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the in-room accommodations, staff and Library Lounge. We hope that you consider staying with us again during your next trip to Syracuse!

Best Regards,
Emilie L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my son for a basketball tournament in Syracuse. The location is downtown and is very convenient. The hotel is very nice but showing some age. The rooms appear to have been updated recently. Ours had a flat screen tv and a rain shower which was a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBWITT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings DBWITT,
Thank you for your kind words and recommondation to fellow TripAdvisor members! We appreciate you noticing our recent updates as we completed a $5 million renovation in 2012. We were built a few years back, but we are holding up stronger and prouder than ever! We hope you and your family can revisit again real soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a great hotel for a business trip. The rooms are small but the amenities are outstanding. There is an outlet center with a gazillion ways to hookup and plug in. This hotel is great if you have a conference and in town but not so great for a family trip. Rooms are too small but perfect for one person to sit in the room and get work done. The staff was friendly and the buffet breakfast is more than enough, very generous.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be the same size but if you're sharing a room with a coworker, ask for a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desi63085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings Desi63085,
Thank you kindly for your review and tips shared here on TripAdvisor! All feedback is very important to us and we strive to make our property better with each suggestion. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities such as our in-room work stations, breakfast buffet, and time spent with our staff members. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My stay was reserved as part of a sales management conference. The conference center is located across the breezeway and certainly adequate for a conference or meeting of any size.
While the location is not in the high interest area of Syracuse it does have easy access to the main roadways which was great for our group coming in from all over the state. We went to Destiny USA for dinner and Wonder Works.
For me the key factor of a quality hotel room is a comfortable bed and hot strong shower which this hotel exceeded my minimum standard for both. Great room set up and work space for the business traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilie L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings Kristine M,
Your kind words are greatly appreciated by all of us here at the Crowne Plaza Syracuse, thank you for sharing your feedback! Even though it looks like you were here on business, we are pleased to hear that you got to enjoy some of Syracuse finest such as Destiny USA. Destiny USA is up and coming with new attractions every month, so if you get to visit us again, there will be more for you to explore. Thank you for the comments on our 7-layer of comfort beds and our rain showers, we know how important these two amenities are, and are happy that you enjoyed them. We hope you are able to visit us again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 32 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 32 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#15 of 32 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 32 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 701 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Syracuse is located in the heart of Downtown and easily accessible from the NYS Thruway and Interstate 81. The Hotel caters to not only leisure guests but also to group and business traveler. Guests enjoy attentive service, newly appointed guest rooms and inspired dining at Redfield's Restaurant. Covered parking, free high speed internet, daily newspapers, in-room coffee, in-room safes, shuttle services, and a Fitness Center are just some of the amenities that guests can expect. Crowne Plaza Syracuse features 12,500 square feet of meeting and event space and banquet halls including a Conference Center which accommodates up to 200 people. And for those extra special occasions, our 20th Floor Ballroom features spectacular panoramic views of the Syracuse skyline. For the business traveler, we offer ready access to companies; as well as to Healthcare facilities in the Syracuse area. For those in Syracuse for leisure, the excitement of the Syracuse Orange and the Carrier Dome, Syracuse Crunch AHL Hockey, Syracuse Stage, the Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, the New York State Fair and so much more are within minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Syracuse
Syracuse Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing