We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Genesee Grande Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not there yet”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Parts of this hotel are very up to date, the lobby, bar and reception rooms. The rooms themselves are more vintage than upscale. Cooling system is loud and annoying. Room was clean and the staff is very accommodating. Parking is easy. Neighborhood is uninteresting. Nice coffee bar in the lobby to get your first cup in the morning and again, the staff aim to please.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    141
    85
    34
    12
See reviews for
91
90
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Genesee Grand would have you think it is a diamond in the rough.

A 4-star high class hotel hidden within a not so great looking area in Syracuse.

Upon arriving you will find yourself in a BEAUTIFUL lobby, but the common areas of the hotel seem to be where most, if not all, of the hotels beauty ends.

the hallways to the rooms are VERY narrow, and upon entering this EXTREMELY sub-par room (ive had nicer rooms in model 6's)

I found the wireless internet didnt even work. After a quick back and fourth with the front desk, i got it to work very slowly before it would cut out every 2 minutes... so much for getting any work done.

the room thermostat isnt digital, nor is it based on a temperature - its "cold, hot - low, medium, high, off" - are you kidding me?! - you have a koi pond but not even a good AC/heating unit?

this room looks like its last upgrade, aside from the flat screen tv, was in 1970.

The shower head was dirty, grimey, and with VERY low water pressure, which also leaked water ALL over the bathroom floor, getting my clothes wet.

SO! to sum up. despite the Genesee Grand seeming like a diamond in the rough, its certainly no diamond, its just rough. VERY high/over priced rough at that.

instead of staying here i would strongly suggest trying a 30 dollar motel. you will find they rooms arent much different, except the wifi at motels tend to work much better than at this "4 star" hotel.

what a rip off. - AVOID!

Room Tip: to avoid getting a bad room here... go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I'm surprised to read about the problems with Priceline has I booked through it and could not be more delighted with the results. The hotel is spectacular. Beautifully decorated and furnished in warm bright colors with a nod to more traditional decor. The room is spotlessly clean and very welcoming.

But what really makes this hotel stand out and earn the appellation "grande" is the quality of the hotel staff. Quite simply I have never met friendlier, more welcoming, accommodating, and professional staff. Everyone from the waitress at dinner to the staff at the front desk, to the cleaning staff and parking attendants has gone out of their way to make me feel welcome.

It is a rare pleasure these days to have such an overwhelmingly positive experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Staying in a beautiful place is one of those little luxuries that pays off in subtle but profound ways. I had to stay in a dreadful place when attending my son's college orientation in his tiny town, and it depressed both of us, coloring how we experienced the day, so there was something very special about coming here.

My sincere thanks to the fantastic staff here.

Room Tip: I had a charming room in a nook off by itself on the 6th floor, and it therefore had two windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a nice hotel, however because it does not have your standard two doubles/queens in each room this hotel should not be booked on Hotwire/Priceline. They do not guarantee the room type so even if you select triple or 4 person occupancy it is not a guarantee that you will get two beds. You could be stuck with one bed for 4 guests.
We had called to ensure our rooms (we had booked two, for 6 guests) would be on the same floor and the receptionist said that they would be. When we arrived our rooms were not on the same floor and they were not suited for more than 2 guests - each had one bed. After some discussion with the front desk staff and the manager they were able to switch one of our rooms to a suite, which had one double bed and one pull out couch, still not ideal but we made it work. Another negative was that despite asking in advance if the shuttle would take us to the mall, when we arrived they told us it was out of the area the shuttle services and they could not take us.
Despite the issues during check in this is a lovely hotel for a quick stay in Syracuse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_J_Phillips44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELLSWORTH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I booked the room through priceline with a bid of $90. Knowing that priceline doesn't guarantee room types, I called the front desk to request two beds in the room. The receptionist was very friendly and said that she would make a note and that we shouldn't have any problems. Upon checking in, we were given the last room the hotel had, which had one full size bed. For two guys traveling on business, this was a less than ideal situation. Having said that, the staff was helpful and apologetic. They were able to bring extra bedding to the room as well as a fan, and did so very quickly. The quality of the room was absolutely fantastic. Clean and modern. I took the bed and my traveling companion made a spot on the floor. We were both able to say that we had one of the best nights sleep we have had in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkpacman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked a king suite as the description of the weekend warrior king suite appeared to show that it may have a king bed OR sleeper sofa. . NOT BOTH . It had both
The king suite was in another building... The air conditioning vent blew right on the head of the bed.. And it could not be closed . It did blast every few minutes and when turned down .. The room got very warm . I complained and was told the windows did open except it was 80 degrees out.
I asked for a coffee maker .. Got 2 packages of coffee. That's all no .. coffee maker. The coffee in the lobby was in the other building and I was told it was only there from 4-6.30 am.. Not true. It was there when we checked out at 9 am.. But again we had to change buildings to get the coffee.
We were there for an Ironman .. and had to be at the course at 7am .. so didn't bother with the coffee. We also asked for a fridge as we had groceries .. But none available.. We were told we could leave them it the one behind the front desk .. We just filled our cooler with ice.
We sat at the bar before dinner .. Hanna was great... Very friendly..
Dinner was excellent and the service as well .. Would eat there again in a heartbeat.
I asked to change rooms for the second night ... Robert at the check in was very accommodating .
We put all our belongings in our sons room ..and when we checked in the second night he had given us the big suite with sitting room and living room .. And jacuzzi.. Very nice room .. With a view even .. Not looking at an alley
I asked again for a coffee maker for the second time.. Was told one would be there
We went to the bar again before dinner and Hanna saved us some of the wine we liked .. We went somewhere else for dinner and had the saved wine for a nightcap..
They had 1/2 price bottles of wine that night as well..
All and all .. We had difficulties but the staff tried their best to accommodate. But STILL NO COFFEE MAKER ever showed up.
There is no problem with the staff.. Just the hotel itself.. For the price there should be an in room coffee maker.. After reading other reviews I am not alone...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part .. 2 floors.. Better rooms, air, restaurant in lobby ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear jennyflow,

Please accept our apology for your inconvenience’s regarding the A/C issue and the coffee/coffee maker confusion. We do offer complimentary coffee and in room coffee maker and fridges based on availability. It is great to hear Robert was attentive accommodating you. Also thank you for mentioning your experience in the 1060 restaurant and bar, Hanna and Robert both enjoyed reading your review. Thank you for being our guest and for your constructive review. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Syracuse!

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, PA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Although the rooms/small suites at the Genesee Grande in Syracuse are a positive - lots of extra space and nice and clean, the cooling system is a major negative for this otherwise fine Syracuse hotel. Cooling, heating are controlled by a thermostat on the wall, which for most hotels is a positive feature, but this system only knows how to be on and off, and when it is off the temperature in the room rises, and when it is on it blasts cold air into the room, for as long as it needs to bring the temperature back down to close to the desired temperature. The resulting cold air blasts, noisily, for two to five minutes, throughout the day and night, especially the night, so if you are a light sleeper the blast of cold air will awaken you every fifteen minutes or so all night long.

Hotel rooms o not have in-room coffee service but there is early morning free coffee in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Unless the cooling system problems listed above we're isolated to room 204, which I doubt, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveVegoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear SteveLebanon_PA,

Thank you for your constructive review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the abundance of noise you have experienced. We would also like to let you know that we have informed our Engineering Department regarding this specific issue. Please come and see us again the next time you are in Syracuse!

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 32 in Syracuse
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 32 in Syracuse
444 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Property: The Genesee Grande Hotel
Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1809
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing