We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Genesee Grande Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Would have liked to rate this as 'good'
The staff were generally extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great - the belgian waffle was one of the best I have had. Lobby area was spacious, and I appreciated being able to get cups of tea or coffee all day. The room was nice, but dark, with insufficient lighting to sit and read It was annoying to have the two tv's (one in the sitting area, one in the bed area) have different numbers for the same channel. The bathroom was on the small side, as I would expect in a hotel of this age, however I would have expected better towel quality for a hotel in this price range. The mattress also left something to be desired, having a tendancy to roll you to the center. It was very noisy at night due to a wedding party - I would have expected the hotel to have put us on a different floor to aviod this problem. Overall a nice hotel, but as another reviewer said it did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Deborah E,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfast at the 1060 Bistro. We would like to let you know we have corrected the issues about the TVs in your room, as well as the mattress. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 436 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a wedding at the hotel and the experience was perfect. The front desk staff was helpful and arranged a room close to the elevator for my elderly mother. The room wasn't large, but it was big enough and well-appointed. The reception was a ton of fun and the food was very good. There is free parking which is a nice plus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCaprilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear DCaprilee,

Thank you for the great comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you want a fresh place and nothing more, this should do it. Lobby is nice and the rooms are spacious, simple and clean. I would stay here again for a quick overnite stay. Oh, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv_totravel121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Luv_totravel121,

Thank you for the positive comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently stayed there for a 3 day convention. Our rooms were pre-assigned. LIKES: Very clean, comfortable bed, excellent food, comfortable lounge area, charming decor in lobby, bar and restaraunt, courteous staff. DISLIKES: I had to wait until 3:00 to check in, my room: in the older building was smallish and drab. No full length mirror, no coffee maker. Bad neighborhood, not safe to walk in. BIGGEST DISLIKE: I asked twice, and my request was politely declined both times, to be taken by the hotel shuttle to Destiny USA (formerly known as the Carousel Mall), a big area attraction, and not more than 5 miles away. It cost me $15 plus tip each way. I think the hotel has some sort of agreement with the local cab companies. Because of this, I will not stay there again.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Nancy F,
Thank you for your great comments about the hotel and our staff. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and the lounge as well. We are sorry that there may have been a miscommunication; our guaranteed check-in time is at 3:00 P.M. and we do offer coffeemakers upon request, as well as complimentary coffee in the lobby .Our Hotel shuttle is based upon availability and primarily used for transportation centers, the Syracuse University campus and downtown. We hope you were able to utilize it to travel to the appointed areas. We truly hope to have you as our guest the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here while en route to NYC. This is an older hotel that has seen renos over the years. Even with the renos, the hotel has been able to retain its' charm. We were greeted by the front desk staff with a smile and very good service. The rooms are of good size and are kept very clean. The bed are very comfortable and the bedding of high quality. The bar is a great place to go for a relaxing drink. They have a very good wine and beer list and I am sure that there is something there for everyone. I would most certainly stay at this hotel again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Duane L,

What a wonderful review to read! We thank you for taking the time to express your experience. We are excited to have you as our guest again.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Genesee Grand in August 2012 and the room was no better than a flop house. The toilet was not even attached to the floor. It wobbled when used. There was a large rip in the carpet at the entry door. The light bulbs were burned out on the light next to the beds. The bathroom floor had schmutz in all the corners and was poorly laid out. The electrical outlet on the desk was broken. The iron was so high in the closet that my wife could not reach it and once i got it down found the plastic housing was broken. The cost for this "first class hotel" was $300 per night!

I wrote the hotel about this abysmal performance and they have not deigned to respond. Stay here at your own risk.

Room Tip: My room was terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Larry B,

We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Please know we strive for excellent guest experiences and we are disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Your comments were addressed by our department managers immediately after your review on TripAdvisor, but it was unfortunate we did not hear about these issues any sooner. We would hope to have you as our guest in the future so that we can provide you with the exceptional experience that you deserve.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in a room in the tower that was very nice and huge; it was easily three NYC hotel rooms. The road in front was ripped up, which was a minor pain. But I thought the location was great, close to the university and downtown. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear martroon,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Construction on East Genesee Street has been going on for a while; it is part of the Connective Corridor project and will look great once everything is completed. We are so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1809
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $127 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing