We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Genesee Grande Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here while en route to NYC. This is an older hotel that has seen renos over the years. Even with the renos, the hotel has been able to retain its' charm. We were greeted by the front desk staff with a smile and very good service. The rooms are of good size and are kept very clean. The bed are very comfortable and the bedding of high quality. The bar is a great place to go for a relaxing drink. They have a very good wine and beer list and I am sure that there is something there for everyone. I would most certainly stay at this hotel again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Duane L,

What a wonderful review to read! We thank you for taking the time to express your experience. We are excited to have you as our guest again.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 437 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Genesee Grand in August 2012 and the room was no better than a flop house. The toilet was not even attached to the floor. It wobbled when used. There was a large rip in the carpet at the entry door. The light bulbs were burned out on the light next to the beds. The bathroom floor had schmutz in all the corners and was poorly laid out. The electrical outlet on the desk was broken. The iron was so high in the closet that my wife could not reach it and once i got it down found the plastic housing was broken. The cost for this "first class hotel" was $300 per night!

I wrote the hotel about this abysmal performance and they have not deigned to respond. Stay here at your own risk.

Room Tip: My room was terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Larry B,

We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Please know we strive for excellent guest experiences and we are disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Your comments were addressed by our department managers immediately after your review on TripAdvisor, but it was unfortunate we did not hear about these issues any sooner. We would hope to have you as our guest in the future so that we can provide you with the exceptional experience that you deserve.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed in a room in the tower that was very nice and huge; it was easily three NYC hotel rooms. The road in front was ripped up, which was a minor pain. But I thought the location was great, close to the university and downtown. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear martroon,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Construction on East Genesee Street has been going on for a while; it is part of the Connective Corridor project and will look great once everything is completed. We are so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Hotel seems to be the default hotel when doing Priceline in Syracuse. We got this hotel from Priceline paid $79 a night, and for that price this Hotel was very nice. Online, their prices rage from 150 + The hotel is clean and well updated and staff was friendly. The basic room is with a queen, to get a king bed you need to upgrade to a suite.

We also ate breakfast at the hotel in the morning, it was $15 for a full buffet, $10 for a cold buffet. It was good but a bit expensive.

Room Tip: for a quieter room, ask for a room that doesn't face directly over Genesee St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear KingstonTraveller13,

We are really happy that you found a great deal on your accommodations at the Genesee Grande Hotel, and that we exceeded your expectations. Hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the area!

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel at the edge of the Syracuse University campus and near downtown is very convenient to the highway exits and fairgrounds.

Our room, on the first flloor in the main building, was A bit small and the bathroom lacked a surface near the sink to put toothbrushes and other personal stuff. My wife described it as perfect for one person staying for a one night business trip.

My associates, who had rooms in the other building, said they had lots of room and small sitting areas. Choose your rooms carefully.

Housekeeping was fast and efficient. There was no coffee pot in the room, but one was delivered within 10 minutes of requesting one. The staff were all friendly and accommodating.

the meeting room we had was clean, comfortable and serviced frequently.

The first banquet dinner we had was marginal, both food and wait service. The second was wonderful on both counts. Both were buffet dinners.

Ignore the rating on spa and pool below, I could not remove the check marks.

Room Tip: Ask for roon in annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Glenn E,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to hear our staff was friendly and accommodated your requests. Please know, for your future reservations, we have many different room types which may suit your needs better. We hope to see you again on your next event.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel is located in an area of Syracuse that is being renovated. the streets out front are completely ripped up. Check in was quick and efficient. Overnight room was very small - however - adequate and clean, Could use an updating. Received a recommendation for dinner within walking distance from the hotel by a very friendly manager in the lobby. It was okay - but again, no big complaints. Next morning was woken up at 6am by what sounded like a men's college sports team - yelling and hollering...for the next 1-1/2 hours. When we were checking out I voiced my complaint to the front desk, who apologized and said we are so sorry, you should have called. I would have been okay with this - until I went out to the parking lot and saw two motor coaches loading with college aged men. At what point does the hotel hold the coaches and players responsible for not intruding on other guests right to peace and quiet? Hotel KNEW these students were at the hotel, and had them housed on the same floor as other guests. JUST NOT RIGHT. The one bright star was a server in the lounge (Lauren?) - friendly, efficient. Hotel might be good destination if you are in Syracuse to see a college game.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruisingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear CruisingOn,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please know it is our goal to ensure every guest has a great experience while staying with us, and that we are truly sorry for your inconvenience. We hope the next time you are in the area you will give us another chance to provide the great service for which we are known for.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night. Overall, it was OK, and I liked that it was close to our destination, Syracuse University.

However, at about one in the morning a prolonged, loud, drunken argument broke out in the hall right outside our door -- Woman: "I can't believe you punched me! And your sister! In the face!" Man: "Go blank yourself." Etc.

Finally, it seemed management was called, somebody apologized (loudly), and the incident came to an end. Not exactly a horrible experience but certainly annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldHecuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkviewManagement, Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear HaroldHecuba,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We are really sorry to hear about the disturbance, yet happy to hear our staff was attentive and responded quickly to rectify the issue. Hope to see you and your family next time your travels bring you to the area.

Best Regards,

Genesee Grande Hotel
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Genesee Grande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1809
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $125 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing