We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & atmosphere ”

Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 780 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Originally known as Phoebe's Garden Cafe, the restaurant has a long and colorful history in Syracuse. Local lore claims that the building was originally a brothel, and Phoebe was its madam. The tin ceiling above the bar is original to the building and the name still honors Phoebe, but much has changed since those early days. William Eberhardt opened Phoebe's Garden Cafe in December of 1976 with a bistro style menu and an ornately carved wood bar.The atmosphere was rich with red brick walls, and deep green upholstery, all surrounded by lush green plants. The large atrium dining room was added in 1985, increasing seating and opening up the entire restaurant with a sunny new skylight. In the summer of 2004, Phoebe's experienced a refreshing makeover with a bright new look in the atrium dining room with fresh paint, new upholstery, and artwork. The bar and cafe areas were softened with cool linen window treatments and warm shades of burgundy and cream.The coffee lounge also opened that year, and it became an instant hit with the surrounding university and business crowd. Those changes also warranted a new name to reflect the updated attitude and ambiance: Phoebe's Restaurant and Coffee Lounge. Classic elements of Phoebe's remain untouched-the French onion soup and enticing creme brulee. The lunch and dinner menu changes seasonally and includes many locally-sourced ingredients. Looking for more of a quick bite on the go? The Coffee Lounge serves as a take-out window for breakfast sandwiches, lunch, and dinner, in addition to all of the made-to-order coffee and espresso drinks. The Lounge also has its own seating area and free wireless internet capabilities. Phoebe's old world charm is right at home in a revitalized area of the city. Located on the Connective Corridor on East Genesee Street across from Syracuse Stage and near Syracuse University, Phoebe's is a favorite stop for theater goers. Phoebe's also offers private dining facilities with custom menus to suit. We invite you to join us-and make Phoebe's your new favorite place.
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

We love going to Phoebe's! It's designed on different levels and spaces so you can choose a cozy nook for coffee with friends or a larger spot to dine with a group. The food is excellent and there's a good selection for vegetarians which is great to find. Very friendly wait staff and great staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SoNiceOutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoebe's R, General Manager at Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent visit. We appreciate your kind words and taking the time to share them! Hope to see you again soon:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

The atmosphere is very nice. We love trying new places, especially a smaller, non franchise type restaurant. The service was great and the food was delicious! There were gluten free options, although I had anticipated a greater selection based on some reviews than there actually were. They have a full coffee bar which my husband found terrific. There is one gluten free, flourless chocolate cake for dessert so that was nice. Would definitely recommend and will hopefully be there again!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoebe's R, General Manager at Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you for visiting Phoebe’s restaurant! We appreciate your comments and are so happy that you enjoyed your experience. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

We had a fairly late dinner, 8 pm, after the Syracuse Stage patrons were gone - it was a really enjoyable return visit.
Everything we ordered was excellent, the butternut soup, vegetable curry, salmon and apple tart. And, one could request half-orders of the entrees! Atmosphere is cozy nut uncrowded, and service was wonderful. We plan not to wait quite so long for our next visit!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Roadrunner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ph5154, General Manager at Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your comments about your visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Based on one lunch and one dinner, I have to say that the food was good but with minor annoyances. The pulled pork sandwich I had for lunch was tasty but the bottom of the roll was soggy. The open-face Reuben I had at dinner was good but the fries were almost cold enough to send back. My wife reports that the quiche at lunch was very good.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

I ate here in a business trip. The food was excellent. Truest home cooked meal from soup to dinned to dessert. The atmosphere was so relaxing and perfect for light conversation with colleagues. The offer both 1/2 plate and full plate meals which was perfect. However the 1/1 plate is a small portion.great service and exceptionally clean. I went with two other people and we were still talking about how good it was the next day. Definitely will go again if I ever return to the area.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dannamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ph5154, General Manager at Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Thank you very much for all of your kinds words. Glad to see that you and your friends enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Syracuse. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Phoebe's Restaurant & Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing