We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay on 3rd floor if you're a non-smoker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
259 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Don't stay on 3rd floor if you're a non-smoker”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Even though this hotel does not allow smoking in any rooms now, I was told by front desk staff the 3rd floor formerly had smoking rooms when the hotel opened several years ago. I checked in after arriving by plane around 10:30 p.m. on a Saturday evening and was given a 3rd floor room. The smell of smoke when I opened the door was very strong, stale and pronounced. I called down to the front desk immediately to ask for a different room. Was told they were full and no other rooms were available so I would need to sleep in the room. (and the windows are ones which cannot be opened) The person I spoke with apologized several times and deducted $25 from my bill. I appreciated the gesture, but it did not change the fact I had to cover up my face with a bed sheet to try and minimize the horrible stale smoke smell which resulted in a bad night of little sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room on 1st or 2nd floor for a true smoke-free night of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear MNDoodles,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the unusual smell of the room you received during your stay with us. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    87
    60
    12
    10
See reviews for
74
54
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms were spacious and had queen size beds. We had a rollaway too and still had plenty of room. However, the halls smelled funny, the beds were wicked hard and the a/c unit didn't work properly. We could hear people in the hallway talking, etc. all night. The bad outweighed the good for us and we will never stay there again. For the price, there are definitely better hotels available. Strongest asset is that is close to a gas station, McD's, Dunkin Donuts and Tim Horton's.

Room Tip: If you stay here, make sure you ask for a room that is not located next to the elevator and the snac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody1970449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Jody1970449,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry for the problems you experienced in the room and for not living up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived on a Friday evening and we were greeted by good staff which took the time to explain the amenities of the hotel. Once in the room on the ground floor, we were welcome by the smell of a musty room and noticed the thermostat was set at 76F. We quickly lowered to 70F in order to get the AC going and the smell subsided after an hour. We truly enjoyed the pool and like the fact it is not too deep which is perfect for young kids. As we hit the bed, I was surprised on how uncomfortable the mattress was. I also found the pillow were extra soft or very soft instead of being soft and firm. We have been in HIE in numerous countries and I must say that was the worst bedding for this chain. The following morning we had a wonderful breakfast and the place was not too busy at around 08:30

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DacoTheCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear DacoTheCanadian,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I appreciate the kind words about our hotel, good staff, enjoyable pool and amenities, comfortable bed and wonderful breakfast. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The rooms are very standard and somewhat minimal but the service is good. The shuttle to the airport is good and I think 24/7.

Pool and gym but very sparse and not inspiring.

Coffee in the morning is okay. Breakfast is nice but definitely the corporate spread.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Walls are paper thin and the air conditioner sounds like a jet engine coming on, it goes on for 30 seconds and then goes off. Does this every 5-10 minutes all night. Room had a smell as well. Not best place if you want a good nights sleep. Good free breakfast and staff is good

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. I would like to assure you that the challenges you encountered are not indicative of our usual high standards. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chosen because of it's reviews and location to airport.

Easy check-in, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Close to restaurants and other services. Good internet access, good air conditioning as well.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandBSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here one night prior to flying out of Syracuse. The price was a little on the high side, but in line with other rates. The hotel was quite nice and the room itself was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included in our stay and there was a great selection. Only a two-three minute drive to the airport. Large convenience store located right across the street. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Syracuse Airport Inn
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
4.0 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport
Address: 5418 S Bay Rd, Syracuse, NY 13212-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Syracuse airport hotel offers comfort and convenience. Indulge yourself by staying at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Syracuse near the Syracuse Hancock International Airport (SYR). Our convenient hotel is located right at the entrance of the airport to accommodate your travel needs. Families will love staying at our hotel in Syracuse, New York, situated near the intersection of Col. Eileen Collins Blvd. and South Bay Road. This location offers fast access to many local attractions including the Carousel Center Mall, the Museum of Science and Technology and the Landmark Theatre. Other nearby attractions include the Rosamond Gifford Zoo, Syracuse University, Oneida Lake, Iron-Girl Triathlon and historic Armory Square. Business travelers appreciate the accommodations provided at our Syracuse Airport hotel. Located at the entrance to the airport, this hotel also provides close proximity to local companies such as Lockheed Martin, Syracuse Research Corporation, Cooper Crouse-Hinds and Anheuser-Busch, Inc. In addition, we provide meeting space for up to 15 people as well as business services, which include a fax machine, copier, printer and free high-speed, wireless Internet access. While staying at our Syracuse hotel, enjoy our choice amenities that include an indoor pool, a fitness center and our complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservations now to get our great hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport Hotel Syracuse
Holiday Inn Syracuse
Syracuse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing