We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed at Wingate Inn for one night. The location was isolated and there were a lot of industrial buildings and scraps around the building. Although the location was not very central, my husband and I could not find anything wrong with the hotel itself. It was clean, large rooms, good bathroom, good hot breakfast, good friendly service. For a one night stay it was a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AymanToronto_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 304 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2008

Although a bit isolated, I really enjoyed my stay here. The facility was new and very clean. The staff was nice and very friendly. There is a Quaker Steaks and Lube restaurant next door with a gravel road connecting them, a safe way to get back if you've gotten too "lubed" next door. The only fault I found was that I thought the sheets felt rough, though clean. I'd definitely syat there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gilley2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I stayed at the Wingate for 2 weeks and enjoyed it. True, it's sort of in the middle of no where but it is easy to find and it was quiet. No road noise, sirens, etc.

The room was great. All the advertised amenities. Very clean; good housekeeping staff. The free internet was wonderful especially during an extended stay.

All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. (Jessica and Crissy were great.) Good with directions and often would print out Mapquest without being asked. Manager - nice guy and took an interest is my comfort.

The breakfast was basically okay just don't expect a restaurant style meal. (A lot of people were eating it!) There were standard items but the hot entree changed daily (microwaved). If you didn't want to make coffee in your room, there was coffee in the lobby 24 hour a day. Free newspaper at my door each morning.

Small but clean exercise room. Didn't use pool or spa. Washer and dryer worked. The pantry came in handy for late night cravings. The business center was great and well stocked.

Plenty of parking for vehicles hauling trailers.

"The Lube" nearby is a young persons restaurant /bar but the beer was cold and chicken wings were good. Other food was so-so. Bring the family and go inside just to see the cars, m/c and snowmobiles hanging from the ceiling.

Construction will be starting nextdoor so request a room at the other end of the building.

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this place to others; in fact, I plan on returning in a couple of months.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank californian_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on May 17 through May 19 upon the advice of other friends. The room was nice and clean, spacious. Bed very comfortable, bathroom huge, worked well, fridge (not cold enough) microwave, coffee maker. The hotel lobby not that clean.Management friendly and accommodating (answered your questions, asked you how your day was, smiled) You can hear people talking through the walls from the next room. While in the lobby a guest came to complain that he had a steady noise in his room. Apparently he was above some kinds of vents (?not sure?)The breakfast they boast about was very poor and this is probably why I was turned off. We were not hungry by any means. It just needed some fine tuning. The tongs to take bread, pastries, boiled eggs, etc.were really dirty and sticky. You had to ask for food to be put out. The danish pastries where solidly frozen. The bread was not fresh. You had to ask for food to be put out. Empty platters were visible. In general the area where food was out was a bit unclean. The hostess could have been out wiping the counters, restocking food. It was a poorly presented breakfast. The pool, we did not use, seemed cloudy. The pool was very small. The meeting room was not tidy or cleaned up. It looked like a "junk" room. This hotel is new and sits out in a field. It seems there may be ongoing construction. I personally did not go the Quaker State Restaurant, however some from our party went and they said it was loud, noisy, bar-like atmosphere. The menu looks appetizing and plentiful, but the atmosphere is not.

The breakfast at the hotel really turned me off. Other guests were complaining about the lack of food out as well. Otherwise if this wouldn't bother you, then go for it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Great stay at this hotel. Newer, with big rooms, indoor pool and good hot breakfast.
They have opened a new restaurant, Quaker Steak and Lube right next to the hotel which gave us a good option for a quick dinner last night.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MLLINNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Well, you could definitely tell that this hotel was new, and not in a good way - they did not have their act together with service. I stayed here on both ends of a business trip to take advantage of their free parking and free airport shuttle, and I found the hotel itself to be average. Both times I stayed in a room that had two double beds. The room decor was still reminiscent of bland hotel decor and the carpet was a very unpleasant feeling under your feet (kind of hard, like someone had spilled something all over it). I talked to the manager and he indicated the hotel, which has a rather remote location, is going to have an indoor water park attached in the next phase, so it is obvious the hotel is in phase one of its master plan. The bed was fine, nothing special. The room was clean, and the pool was nice as well. The breakfast in the morning was typical.
However, although this was advertised, the hotel required 48 hours notice on airport shuttles since they only bring on a driver "when needed." I have never heard of airport shuttle service only when your flight is scheduled - since my flights changed on the way home this created a nightmarish situation for me. As my flights were changing, I would try to contact the hotel, and the phone would ring and ring - over 30 times - until I finally called the 800 reservations number and had them dial through for me. This happened about 6 times, and I was only calling to confirm my travel (I ended up having to fly standby since my flgiht was cancelled, and I was calling to update them on their status per their request so they could keep the driver handy). When I finally arrived, they couldn't "get" the driver - he wasn't answering his cell phone. Basically, don't count on this hotel for airport transportation - they're not equipped and it will save you a lot of headaches.
Other than the above situation, the staff was helpful and courteous to make sure that everything was taken care of and answered any and all questions, particularly the general manager. Both times in stayed at the end of a hallway in room 226. I had no problems with the room, except for the weird rug. Also, the curtains were not good at blocking out light, and there was a very bright security light in the parking lot. I would recommend this for a quick stay, but not for airport transportation - frankly, they should just give up on this unless they hire on-staff drivers.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

The my boyfriend and I stayed at the Wingate for 8 nights on a little getaway. The hotel itself is off the beaten path, not directly off of I-690 but very close to it. It is in the middle of nowhere, but it's *very* quiet and easy to find, in my opinion. From the moment we checked in, we truly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is geared for business travelers, but anyone can stay. Our room was immaculate, service was friendly and prompt, and it was jut an overall fantastic stay. We would definitely stay again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank celticfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
5.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse Destiny USA
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
7.2 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Address: 6946 Winchell Rd, Syracuse, NY 13164-9741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $90 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing