We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice way to finish off our 10 day vacation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice way to finish off our 10 day vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked 9 consecutive nights at various Holiday Inn Express hotels as part of our round trip from Toronto down to the Washington DC/Philadelphia area and back...

We spent the last night of this trip at this Syracuse NY location which had a junior suite room with 2 Queen beds as we were looking for (with 4 in our party)...

We had also reserved a roll away/cot so we could 'spread out a bit' and all have a more comfortable sleep, and it was provided soon after we arrived!

The extra space the suite offered was certainly nice; we all wished we had this extra space during the first 8 night of our trip!

Staff was courteous from the moment we arrived to just before we departed to complete our trip back home...

Room Tip: Be careful as this location may not come up on your GPS if maps are a bit out of date!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_dorscht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dave,

Thank you for your review! We are glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay at the end of a long trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    107
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
132
47
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
370 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were on our way back from an late afternoon event in Boston and had made reservations several weeks in advance to stay at this hotel. First, it was a trial finding the hotel because the directions were not adequate and it's in an out of the way location. On arriving around 9:30 at night, we were informed by the clerk that the hotel was over booked and we would have to stay elsewhere. The proposed saving grace was that the HEI would pay for the room. Unfortunately they placed us in dark and dank comfort in left over form the 70's, difficult to find, whose staff at first refused the arrangement which took an half houir to resolve. To help brighten our stay, the comfort in did not have interent connectivity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear pen1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Despite your disappointment we do hope you will stay with us again when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were passing thru with no reservation and chose this hotel because it seemed to be out of the way and thought maybe it would be a little safer with all the stuff we would be leaving in the car overnight. We arrived around one am. The service was fast and polite. They didnt have a crib which I thought was strange although it wasn't clear if they were being used or they didn't have any. It wasn't a big deal. We got a king and our two year old slept with us. There was an empty cracker wrapper on the floor but it seemed clean otherwise. Breakfast was good, with lots of options - perfect for a two year old.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam962ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
sam962ca,

Thank your your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a few cribs on the property for complimentary use by our guests. We will look into adding to our inventory to ensure those who need them can have them in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is a little off the beaten path which was fine with us. It was quiet and well maintained. The room met our needs. Breakfast was better then other hotels of the same caliber. Warm cinnamon rolls are yummy. Check in and out was easy. Room was clean. Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 332neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Pittpantherfan,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at the NY State Fairgrounds. I do not usually stay at Holiday Inn and much prefer Hilton or Mariott. Nevertheless, this time, the Holiday Inn Express was very near where I was visiting on business and was recommended by my host. It is a little out of the way and not really near a lot of action so it could be overlooked. Of course, the hotel is relatively new, rooms are modern and clean, free internet and the other amenities that you come to expect. I was particularly impressed with the breakfast service since I am usually less then satisfied at most who offer "not cooked to order" breakfast. They had eggs (which were pre-made but rather tasty), sausage, biscuits and gravy (wow!) and the usual bagels, pastries, coffee, juices, fruit, yogurt, etc. They did have a pancake machine that spit out nice size pancakes in about a minute - this was something similar to make your own waffles, except you did not have to pour the batter in. I did not try them, but they looked pretty good. All in all, it was a very pleasant visit and they more than met my expectations. Even though I am not a Holiday Inn Express guy, I will most likely make an exception and stay here again next time I am in Syracuse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Edward,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will be visiting again. Our express start breakfast is definitely a fan favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My son and I drove from Connecticut to attend 'Anime Syracuse 2012', and this hotel was perfect. You cannot beat the location. it is indeed in the middle of nowhere, but across from the hotel in the parking lot, was a Quaker Steak & Lube! My son and I have only seen one on the Travel Channel's 'Man vs Food', it was fun to actually have one right there. A Big plus. Overall, a nice comfortable hotel. Another plus, this property is close to the Syracuse Fairgrounds. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Peter,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel and at the Quaker Steak and Lube next door. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

this hotel is a few miles outside of the city and in a secluded, yet beautiful and peaceful area. The property looks new and is very clean. The breakfast is nice, especially for a 2-3 star hotel. The staff are some of the nicest people ever, very helpful and courteous. If you have a car and dont mind being outside of the city, this is a great choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Mason,

Thank you for your review. We will be sure to share your kind words with the staff. Come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
6.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
7.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Property: Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Address: 6946 Winchell Rd, Syracuse, NY 13164-9741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing