We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston
1 review
“Great Place to Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great room, quiet, pleasant staff, good breakfast selection, good location.
Dining out means a 15+ minute drive from the hotel, but it is worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank LJWKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
LJWKingston,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review. We appreciate your kind words and I will be sure to pass them along to the whole team here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    100
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
125
44
9
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice property, very hard to find in the dark. Could have used an additional person at the front desk when we were trying to check in at 11 PM. Would stay here again-very quiet. The beds and the pillows were a little bit sub-grade, but very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaydayfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
leedsie,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a good experience. We have also been working with the town on getting additional signage put up. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location is remote, but adequate for a one night stop over from New England to Niagara. The laundry facility was great -(half way through a 3 week tour), and used both the fitness centre and the pool, and Jacuzzi - great for relaxing.
A somewhat disturbed night from other guests in the hotel with running along corridors and doors banging in the early hours.
The complimentary breakfast had a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Lordbinns,

We are glad you enjoyed your stop over at our hotel! It's nice to hear you were able to relax in our pool and hot tub. Also, thank you for letting us know about the noise in the hallway, we'll try and add more rounds through the hallways to prevent that in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I and our 2 year old twin girls stayed here for a weekend in Syracuse. It is a well-run hotel. The hotel was prepared for us and had two cribs set up in our room. The room was spotless and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was very good with lots of choices. We used the indoor pool as well and it was clean even though the water was a bit on the cool side. If you look this hotel up on Google Maps it will appear as if it's in the middle of nowhere - it's a relatively new hotel in an area that the city appears to be redeveloping as a business park. The only nearby restaurant is the Quaker Steak and Lube right beside it. But don't let that discourage you as you can drive to the downtown in less than 10 minutes and it's relatively close to destinations such as the massive Destiny USA mall and the city zoo. Overall it's a very affordable choice and you will be taken care of by their staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalladioKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
PalladioKingston,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to check out that pool temperature for you. We hope you, your wife, and the twins make a return visit soon!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am here at least a couple of times a year for work, and I like this property. While the location is somewhat remote,it is pretty close to where I need to go, and it is a comfortable property. Service at the front desk is always top-rate. The room is roomy, clean, and comfortable. The bath fixture are mind, and the shower is fabulous! While it took a call to the front desk to ask how to operate the shower, the effort was worth it. Hot water through a long shower, and terrific water pressure. The air unit was quiet! Wifi was FAST, which is pretty essential for my business travel. A plus? A decent selection of snacks...and beer...in the lobby at reasonable prices. I will definitely continue to choose this property when I need to do business in Syracuse.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Majorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Majorgal,

We are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us! We look forward to having you back again and again.

Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

After a day of shopping in Syracuse, we couldn't wait to arrive at the hotel. This hotel is really in the middle of nowhere. Make sure you update your GPS. It would be hard to find it without one. We felt a bit uneased when we finally arrived but we must say that the front desk employee made us feel welcomed and at ease. She was very friendly and helpful with her suggestions of restaurants, which you don't have much choice of. If you arrive and are very hungry, there is one restaurant next to the hotel (Quaker Steak & Lube) which is actually very good and you get 10% off your bill when you show your hotel key. All other restaurants are 15 minutes away. The hotel is very clean with a pool which is great for the kids. The breakfast was great with a lot to choose from. Not sure I would recommend due to the fact that it is very isolated, but if need be, I would return due to the excellent customer service received and cleanliness of the whole hotel and grounds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gohabsgo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, as we were passing through to New York City. This is a very nice hotel with friendly staff. The room was a very good size with microwave and a fridge. They supplied a very nice breakfast, everything there was neat and tidy. I believe that this is a fairly new hotel. Just double check the directions for finding the hotel, they can be a little tricky, but we managed no problem. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFamily2941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
Comfort Inn Fairgrounds
#22 of 32 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 32 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#27 of 32 in Syracuse
3.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
6.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds

Property: Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Address: 6946 Winchell Rd, Syracuse, NY 13164-9741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spinning Ferris wheels, hot funnel cakes and big name performers like Maroon 5 & Train are waiting for you at the Great New York State Fair, just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express® Syracuse - Fairgrounds Hotel in Warners, NY. Our hotel's convenient location off I-90 and quick access to I-690 means commuting in and out of the city is a breeze. If you're a business traveler looking for hotels near Syracuse, NY with meeting space, we have an event room that accommodates 50 and a boardroom that seats 10. Corporate guests also appreciate that we're close to Lockheed Martin, Sysco Food Services and Anheuser-Busch. A Business Center with copy, print and PC capabilities is provided, as well. In addition to being just four miles from the state fairgrounds, we're near Onondaga Lake Park, which is a great destination for those who love the outdoors. For those who prefer to shop, Carousel Center Mall is close by and Waterloo Premium Outlets are a short drive from Warners, NY. Our hotel's location also has easy access to Empire Expo Center, downtown Syracuse and Armory Square. While you stay at our hotel's facility near Syracuse, NY, you'll enjoy amenities like free high-speed, wireless Internet access and an indoor pool and spa. Each morning, you can enjoy a free, hot breakfast, as well, at the Express Start Breakfast Bar. Call today and let us help you plan your next trip to this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds Hotel Syracuse
Wingate Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing