We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in winter”

Rosamond Gifford Zoo
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful in winter”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We enjoy the zoo year-round, but if you want the best view of the animals you need to come during the winter. The visit we had yesterday was awesome. The snow leopards, usually reclusive, were both at the glass licking and snuggling each other. I had never seen that before. The wolves were so easy to spot, the tiger was front and center, and even the bears were active. The crowds are smaller compared to warmer months. It's a great way to enjoy the outdoors and appreciate one of the advantages winter provides.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank skrapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    246
    73
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An excellent adventure for only $6!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The perfect answer for a blah winter day was Snow Leopard Days (January & February) at the zoo; half price admissions ($4 adult, $2 child) and with 60% of the exhibits indoors, even if the weather turned ugly there is much to see and experience. It was a bit raw outside, but it appeared to be perfect weather for the animals to be out - we saw wolves, tigers, penguins, red raccoon, barking deer, snow leopards and various birds. Access to see the animals is nicely arranged with windows in fake rock surrounds or overlooks for the large fenced areas set below the walkway for the tigers and wolves. Inside there were sections for birds, insects and reptiles, and fish, then another section where the lions were wintering over, the otter and primates. Be aware that some exhibits are in "cul de sacs" and not all along a continuous path, so don't miss any turns. My seven year grandson declared it a wonderful, fun, awesome adventure - I agreed! We spent almost 2-1/2 hrs and that was even with some hurrying through the outdoor exhibits as we got chillier. I can't wait to go back and see it in other seasons!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bielbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fun, even in winter”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We decided to check the zoo out after finding out that it is open year-round. In order to attract customers in January & February, the tickets are half-price for adults (down to $4 from $8), which helps counter-balance the many outdoors exhibits that are closed. We will certainly try to return during warmer months in order to fully take in the site, and actually see the elephants...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ellasbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
227 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fun Treasure”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is indeed a fun treasure where adults and children can enjoy a wonderfully laid out Zoo. Each time we visit with our grandchildren, they inform us/teach us what they've learned with their past visiting experiences. My daughter, son-in-law and grandkids are members of this charmingly intimate setting with an impressive variety of animals. Includes impressive aquarium display and up-close glass display with lions. The eating establishment is a bit small, but reasonable price-wise. It's a small zoo, but a fun treasure shared with family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HansLudwig2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Little Zoo”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Rosamond Gifford Zoo is a wonderful family friendly place. There are lots of great learning opportunities for kids and adults alike. It's big enough to keep everybody entertained and small enough to do in a few hours, leaving time for other adventures.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosamond Gifford Zoo also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rosamond Gifford Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing