We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms at a Reasonable Price”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My significant other and myself stayed at the Park View Hotel in Syracuse over a weekend for the USTA Tennis Tournament. We arrived late Friday night- there was ample parking and we were happy to get a cotorner room on one of the higher levels. The room was very clean, and large- with room enough for a sitting table and a small kitchenette with a refrigerator and sink. The bathroom was nice, a little small, but was clean and new looking. Always nice to see quality toiletries too- theirs come from Aveda. Another great thing about this hotel is that there is a cafe open all day to get breakfast, bakery items, sandwiches, drinks, wine, and beer. The prices are reasonable for the portions. One complain, and whether important or not is up to the reader: the young man at reception was somewhat flaky. When I asked him a question about a shuttle to the airport at 5am he seemed like it was unreasonable of me to ask for such a thing. Additionally, he was ill-speaking of a caller on the phone to us which seemed a bit unprofessional. Otherwise I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicahalbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 529 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

Alright, so I went to the Syracuse region for work (really I went to Cortland, but it sucks there) and I found a deal on this place -- $99/night, which is pretty cheap for downtown.

It was clean, had free internet, some decent room service, and a gym (although it was just a couple of treadmills). For my purposes, and only staying for 2 nights, it was more than adequate.

The bad news was that it was in the crappier side of town (although not that bad, and just a short walk to the center of downtown) and it was old. That being said, it did have charm -- I liked the old school elevators. The room was fine, but the TV was tiny and the AC was a window unit. Bathroom was pretty good, on the small side, but good and the showerhead was awesome.

Overall it worked and I'll probably be back bc it was cheap.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
Thank jayg42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

This is a very nicely kept-up older hotel. The room was huge with extremely comfortable beds and a spacious, gleaming bathroom. My daughter and I were there for a college visit, and I chose the hotel based on its price, which was much cheaper than other hotels that are close to the University. So it was a pleasant surprise to see how nice it was! I'd definitely stay there again, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColumbusOHTravelmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I stayed here two nights for a College sport event. The stay was pleasant. A nice change of pace as i travel frequent with team sports programs. This is for adults and older teens. No kids running around unsupervised (ahh).

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Within walking distance to the SU campus (about one mile, up a hill), and also a walkable distance to downtown area.

Parkview has nice and comfortable rooms, offers nothing fancy but definitely everything you need (for myself these are cleanliness, some comfort, and free internet). ---If you are looking for a big screen tv in your room, this is not your hotel. They have small lcd screens with expanded cable.

Nice hotel staff, and a nice little cafe/restaurant inside (I forgot its name now).

Last, but not the least, Parkview has a shuttle service to/from the Syracuse airport.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Stayed here on June 23 2009. This hotel was a great value and very comfortable! The staff we dealt with were very nice, checking in and out was easy. We stayed on the 5th floor, king bed. The room was clean and comfortable. The only issues we had was the lack of counter space in the bathroom and the refrigerator door did not close tightly. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would use this hotel again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I booked here because I wanted to be able to walk to campus. I called before March 20 and was offered the Winter rate, $89.00 per night. Amazing price for being right in the middle of town. The hotel is nice, a tad over-decorated but not too tasteless. They're trying to stay in keeping with the era when it was built. As you'll see from the photos, there are faux-retro details, but a few things, like window sashes are antique, charming and true shabby chic. The service is fine, laundry area and workout room are clean. Be warned there is no free breakfast but there is a cafe that has all the usual breakfast stuff for sale. My room has a full closet and also a safe.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.3 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#13 of 31 in Syracuse
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: 713 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $154 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Property Upgrade Complete as of March 1, 2013! Hot breakfast now included!Chic downtown Syracuse NY hotel. Those three words just go together, don't they? Here are three more words: The Parkview Hotel. This is contemporary meets art-deco; funky meets comfortable, and the end result is a boutique hotel atmosphere where you feel just fine about kicking off your shoes and relaxing. Once you check in, you're not going to want to leave any time soon. All rooms and suites are equipped with complimentary upgraded WIFI internet access, speaker phones with voicemail, digital cable, flat-screen LCD televisions, and a really comfortable bed! Just completed, new in-room window treatments, ergonomic chairs and bedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing