We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice for the price”
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I booked here because I wanted to be able to walk to campus. I called before March 20 and was offered the Winter rate, $89.00 per night. Amazing price for being right in the middle of town. The hotel is nice, a tad over-decorated but not too tasteless. They're trying to stay in keeping with the era when it was built. As you'll see from the photos, there are faux-retro details, but a few things, like window sashes are antique, charming and true shabby chic. The service is fine, laundry area and workout room are clean. Be warned there is no free breakfast but there is a cafe that has all the usual breakfast stuff for sale. My room has a full closet and also a safe.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    201
    67
    15
    4
See reviews for
159
123
38
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLC, UT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I actually stayed at the ParkView Hotel which is a sister hotel to the Genesee Grande. For a small room and lower price I feel like I experienced a five star hotel! I was incredibly impressed. The service was wonderful. They helped me find my destination, get to and from the airport on time, even recommend a local pizzeria! It was wonderful and very comfortable.

I especially appreciated the chauffeurs. They were so friendly and helped me feel relaxed about where I was going. Abraham Fuentes took me from the hotel to the airport and gave me a great last impression of not only the Genesee Grande and the ParkView Hotel but also Syracuse as a city. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murraySlc_Ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepmaster
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2009

This is my first review, in spite of being a frequent business traveler. I booked this hotel to be within walking distance of the Convention Center for a trade show.

I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff, the charm of an older hotel, and the quality of the rooms. For the money, this was by far a much better purchase than staying at one of the cookie cutter chains, of which I am a platinum member of most.

I also highly recommend the coffee bar / deli in the hotel. Although not a full service restaurant, they have a stimulating selection of soups, sandwiches, pastries and beverages ... and the soup and sandwich I had was excellent.

From now on, when I am in Syracuse, I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shepmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Booked room off-price for a weekend visit with our SU-student. Quite a pleasant hotel, with a nice lobby, good service, large rooms, excellent bedding, and good bathroom. But the tiny TV and lack of a comfortable armchair in such a large room just don't make sense and are the difference between this and the next level. Nonetheless, if you're not planning to stay in your room all day, it's a great value for very good overnight accommodations. They also have a nice little coffee/wine bistro off the lobby with very nice homemade biscotti, sandwiches and very good coffee.

  • Liked — Bedding, cleanliness, overall pleasantness
  • Disliked — Lack of armchair, tiny TV
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chaseboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico city
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I decided to stay at Parkview based on all the positive comments and better rates. I was a little disappointed upon arrival and used the hotels free Wi Fi to read trip comments, and have to say that I agreed with many points of the only negative post. I’m posting pictures, which pretty much will help you determine your disposition to this hotel.

Arriving at night and expecting a boutique hotel, I had to do a double take to make sure it was THE Parkview. You enter the parking lot through narrow alley way, and the front of the hotel appears to be a warehouse or tenement. The receptionist was very cheerful and upbeat. The elevators were old, but not terrible.

The room and particularly the bathroom had an odor. The bathroom sinks are tiny, without any room for toiletries. I happened to be in the room when the housekeeper was doing my room. She was stepping on the bedding as she cleaned, and I would have been more thorough cleaning the bathroom.

  • Liked — Free Wifi
  • Disliked — Small TV & Sink
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Building is disappointing. Elevators dated back to the dark ages, and although it was recently renovated, it was dreary and depressing. The shower only had warm water, and the blanket was bloodstained. The large screen tv advertised , was in the lobby, the room having a little portable. For a bit more money, go next door to the Renaissance!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wrossjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Not a whole lot to look at on the outside, especially at night, when the neighborhood seems to get very, very quiet.
The front desk clerk was nice enough, although he couldn't honor our request for a rollaway bed (so our teenagers could have separate beds).
They've clearly done a lot of work inside this hotel, and it looks good. A nice art deco-style elevator took us up to a spacious room with comfortable (if only double-size) beds.
I was disappointed with the lack of a slider or chain lock on the room door, but there was a thumb-turn deadbolt.
The small flat-screen TV looked very tiny high on the wall opposite the beds.
The bathroom was delightful, with side-by-side double shower heads and remarkable water pressure and temperature.
All in all, a nice room in a thoroughly renovated hotel in what might sometimes be a dicey neighborhood. A short drive to Syracuse University.

  • Liked — Room size, and bathroom
  • Disliked — Lack of a chain or slider lock on door
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank The_Car_Is_Packed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 32 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 32 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 32 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Property: Parkview Hotel
Address: 713 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Property Upgrade Complete as of March 1, 2013! Hot breakfast now included!Chic downtown Syracuse NY hotel. Those three words just go together, don't they? Here are three more words: The Parkview Hotel. This is contemporary meets art-deco; funky meets comfortable, and the end result is a boutique hotel atmosphere where you feel just fine about kicking off your shoes and relaxing. Once you check in, you're not going to want to leave any time soon. All rooms and suites are equipped with complimentary upgraded WIFI internet access, speaker phones with voicemail, digital cable, flat-screen LCD televisions, and a really comfortable bed! Just completed, new in-room window treatments, ergonomic chairs and bedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing