We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we've ever stayed at!”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I have nothing but positive things to say about the Parkview Hotel. We just spent two nights there this weekend. This hotel far exceeded our expectations! We were struck, the minute we walked through the front door, by the classy appearance of the lobby and the friendliness of the staff at the front desk. We were extremely pleased to find that the hotel had a large parking lot in the back where parking was complimentary. Our room was beautifully decorated and, most importantly, it was pristine!! The bathroom was very large with high quality fixtures. Based on our experience this weekend, we will only ever stay at the Parkview Hotel when we go to Syracuse. This establishment is only a minute or two route 81 and it offers tremendous value for money. When we were checking out yesterday, I told the gentleman at reception how impressed we had been with the hotel. He told me that they work very hard. It shows!

Room Tip: We lucked out with room 613. Try to get that one! It's a corner room so lots of windows and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleartide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    202
    67
    15
    4
See reviews for
159
123
38
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms are large and there is free parking behind the hotel, the best thing is their location. We were moving our son in to Syracuse University and it was easy to get back and forth. The rooms were clean, linens average. We did not use the free breakfast but it was a nice option. You can also buy a beer or wine to take to your room which was nice after a long day of move in.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had reservations at the Parkview, but during the check-in process we were asked if we would rather enjoy a free "upgrade" to their new sister property, the Skyler, a short drive away. We accepted, and checked-in at the Skyler, a beautifully renovated old building. During that check-in we were asked why the Parkview had sent us there. Not exactly a warm and friendly greeting!
We were assigned to a "two-level suite" which, as had been explained to us, had the bedroom upstairs. Unfortunately, the only thing upstairs was the bed so, if you needed to use the bathroom during the night, you had to go back downstairs. Not outrageous, just unexpected. A half-bath upstairs would have been nice.
When we first walked into this room, it was immediately obvious that the AC was not on (the room temp was about 80°). After unsuccessful attempts to get it running, we reported it to the Front Desk. They said that their Mechanic serviced several of their properties, but they would get him to us as soon as possible. He arrived in less than a half-hour, and rebooted the AC system. It troubled us at the time that he had not isolated and resolved the problem that caused the shutdown, but we let it go because we were late for a reservation. Upon returning to the room around 1:00AM, we found the temp back up to near 80°. At home, we usually keep our house at 68°, so we were very uncomfortable, but because of the hour we decided to make the best of it, and had very uncomfortable night's sleep. When we checked-out, we reported the problem, and the woman at the Front Desk was very apologetic, but did not offer anything to compensate us for our miserable night.
Bottom line: They tried to treat us nicely, but did not execute very well.

Room Tip: We got the impression that each room at the Skyler is unique; ask to see your room, or by phone ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

First the positives. The rooms are big, lots of TV channel choices, free wireless, free breakfast, nice lobby. The negatives: shutter windows dont keep room dark in the morning, wireless is weak, price is expensive ($229/room), not much within walking distance (although only short drive from lots of good restaurants), front desk service was average and how the rooms are decorated isnt very stylish. Not a bad hotel but not great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelelmundo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay. This boutique hotel is clean, charming, with spacious rooms. Beautiful decor, free parking and wifi and a very nice breakfast, all included in price. I was able to a very reduced rate through an internet third party site. I can't recommend this hotel enough, especially for access to SU.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottgNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberursel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Convenient, safe location in downtown Syracuse. Large rooms, modern bathrooms and lots of parking. Frig in room. Free home-style breakfast, too! Used my Lufthansa points to pay but worth the posted price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were looking for a hotel close to S.U. And found a great one. The Parkview is convenient, quiet, and best of all extremely clean.
We liked the friendly suggestions by the front desk staff, and the availability of a shuttle. Breakfast was free, and more than adequate, and the area converted to a lounge for evening libation. Next time in Syracuse, we will be back.

Room Tip: L-shaped front corner rooms are BIG, not the little chain hotel boxes we are accustomed to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.5 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 32 in Syracuse
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.3 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 32 in Syracuse
421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Property: Parkview Hotel
Address: 713 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1505
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Family Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete Property Upgrade Complete as of March 1, 2013! Hot breakfast now included!Chic downtown Syracuse NY hotel. Those three words just go together, don't they? Here are three more words: The Parkview Hotel. This is contemporary meets art-deco; funky meets comfortable, and the end result is a boutique hotel atmosphere where you feel just fine about kicking off your shoes and relaxing. Once you check in, you're not going to want to leave any time soon. All rooms and suites are equipped with complimentary upgraded WIFI internet access, speaker phones with voicemail, digital cable, flat-screen LCD televisions, and a really comfortable bed! Just completed, new in-room window treatments, ergonomic chairs and bedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Syracuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing