We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Steakhouse.. Seriously!”

Daniella's Steakhouse
Ranked #11 of 690 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing Steakhouse.. Seriously!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and i were travelling through Syracuse in Late october early november. &wanted a steak house, after deliberating on which one to go to we decided on Daniella's. Hey how bad can it be right? well let me tell you. IT'S FREAKING AMAZING.

The location: One its partly attached to a hotel so it looked kind of dodgy, but stilll decided to go ahed. teh inside decore is dark and candle lit, kind of romantic, Very small, few tables hardly no lights, but a small cozy restaurant. we orderd a bruchetta entree. it wasnt the best TBH. Bread was hard, and just not worth the price, so i had my reservations about ordering a 30$ steak but i am sure glad i did. It was Cooked oviously to perfection it was tender it was absolutely worth the horrible entre. HA! Would i go back absoutely. should you go visit absolutely. The best part was we couldnt eat the whole steak so we took it to go and accidently one waiter threw it out so a waitress came back to appologize and gave us another full size steak at no extra charge,

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDeviatingBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    46
    21
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chaumont, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Time - Thanks Tripadvisor”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My friend and I went here on the majority great reviews. I like to look at the whole picture and not just one or two reviews.

Seated promptly at 5 PM and drink orders were taken right and on the table promptly. Lemon twist was acutaully a talented twist and not just a hunk of lemon in my drink. Bottled beer for my friend.

Bread was solid. My friend was a little more about it than I was (I like a little more chew, however it was served with a nice piped honey butter. Nice touch!

We each had an appitizer. A breaded calimari (I forget the sauce but very good and tender). I had special seared scollops with lump crabmeat and a citrus hollindaise. Avery good appetizer.

Salads were large portions and very good. We both had italian dressing with crumbly blue. No skimping. there and ver fresh and cold.

My friend had a Delmonico rare topped with a gorganzola and carmelized onions. Very good. I felt the onions could have been a bit more prominent, but not a bad thing. And it was rare,

I myself had a a veal chop rare its was served with home made gnocci served with a light brown butter/sage. Both dinners came with fresh snipped grean beans.

Restaurant was clean, service was very good, our Biz (server) was young and learning, Nothing bad at all.

My friend is not usually a dessert eater and if it sounds good I do like a good dessert.. Now here is where my 4 star went to a five! One of the owners of the restaurant came to our table to ask about our experience. A person that cares that much about he and his wife's business gets another at least another half point.

So where does the the extra push me to a five star. The owner described that the desserts were all home made by his wife. That was enought for me - bring on the tiramissu.

I am 49 and have eaten out a lot. Hands down the best tiramissu ever! My friend ate half of it to!. We will be back next Saturday night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown,N.Y.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I dined there last sat. night, and was very impressed! The calamari steak fried and served with a garlic butter sauce was great. My freind started with a scallop appetizer and was equaly as happy. The salads were very good, and loaded with great garnishes. Bread was good as well, served with honey infused butter. Entrees were good as well, the 20oz. Delmonico was rare as ordered and a veal chop was also a hit. Desserts are made in house by the owners wife. They were over the top. We are planning a second visit this week! I recomend to my fellow trip advisors this restaurant is a must stop.Service is good and a great diningroom round out this dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My friend and I just visited Daniella's and what a disappointment! Here I heard rave reviews and we were so disappointed that we actually said something to the wonderful waitress. She was great, however, the meal was awful. The Steak Diane was nothing but two filets in heavy gravy. Not the anticipated light sauce it's supposed to be. The prime rib was just tasteless! And to top it all off, our meal - I mean everything was stone cold. We were the first ones in at 5pm and our meal should have been nice and hot and ready. It wasn't! The smashed potatoes were ice cold like they never were heated - the salad dressing was non existant. The lettuce was so washed that it drowned out the dressing so it tasted very limp and bland. I was so upset with this whole meal. I would never recommend this place. Obviously they cater to the traveler and know they won't be back - so why care. Seriously dissappointing - not worth the $95 for dinner for two!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cherik513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Great place in the NYS Fairgrounds neighborhood”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I was a bit skeptical as I entered, as this is a somewhat small restaurant that shares a building with a fairly ordinary Best Western hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised at the very good food, generous portions, and attentive service. I live on the other side of town and this is a little out of the way, but I'll definitely be back.

While this is a steakhouse, it has an Italian influence as it offers risotto and pasta as alternatives to potato, and ciabatta bread is served with the meals. Not that there's any reason to avoid the baked potato--the one served with my wife's meal was absolutely huge (and tasty). I can't say whether the desserts are good, as we were so full that we couldn't try them.

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniella's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Daniella's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing