We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Play the games, skip the food!”
Review of Dave & Buster's

Dave & Buster's
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Play the games, skip the food!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We did the Eat and Play combo at $25 a person (you get a $20 game card, which got us about 2 hours of play). You have to choose from 8 entrees, which aren't bad, but there are no vegetarian options. We pointed this out to our server and the manager ended up giving us a hard time about it, finally stating that we could get the double burger with a veggie burger as a subsitute, but that we'd only get one patty instead of two because the veggie patties cost more. However, the menu states that you can subtitute veggies patties for any burger on the menu at NO ADDITIONAL COST. We pointed this out to the manager who kept arguing with us. Nice customer service!!

Food was terrible. I had the Mac and Cheese with two pieces of bacon and it looked and tasted like a frozen dinner meal. My sister didn't finish her burger and she finishes everything. The shrimp platter was also not very desirable. My husband's veggie burger was fine, but he still had a bad taste in his mouth due to the manager being unreasonable.

Games were definitely fun. Next time, I'd eat elsewhere and then go play the games.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Leann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    16
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love this Place and Tons of Fun...”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I am crazy fan of Soft toys/Stuffed animals and I Love visiting Dave & Busters. Like all the other location, the Syracuse Location is also great. It is inside the Destiny USA mall and is a great place to visit for all ages. They have something for everyone and a great place to be a child again. There is no fee to enter in but if you want to play games, you will have to load the Power Card and get chips.

I have visiting this place multiple times. All the associates working there are always very courteous and helpful. Especially 'Roger' was really helpful and generous in our last visit. We were playing the Claw game to get the soft toys out of it and the Claw got stuck, we lost the toy which we almost had it. Roger was able to help us and also address our concern. He made sure we are happy.

Definitely an must go place and I will surely visit it tons of times in future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoshniPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loads of fun!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great way for dad to keep the kids entertained while mom shops! Kids loved this place and didn't want to leave.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mom2philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
3,024 reviews
918 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 976 helpful votes
“Great place, but not as much for old timers”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

OK for the kids, but not as much for the old-timers. This restaurant is much more of a game room than anything else, and the games are all HUGE...like the younger generation would use. The bar it closer to the outside, but no one using it on the day of my visit. This place also looks much bigger than it is, via great usage of mirrors.

Go here for the fun and games, but not for the food or drink. It's very loud, and tough to hear yourself think. My mind is still not made up on this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A break from Billy Beez”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent the day at Billy Beez and they are just opening so they had to drinks for the kids. We went to grab some lunch at Dave & Buster's. This was the first time we had been to one and it's kind of like Chuck E Cheese on steroids. The kids loved it! Our dinner was good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheila486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave & Buster's also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dave & Buster's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing