We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back! ”
Review of Mission Restaurant

Mission Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 687 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We'll be back! ”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Half hour wait on a Saturday night.
Service was excellent. Appetizers of spring rolls, Fried green tomatoes and ribs were all very good. Entree of peach mustard glazed pork was dry, no evidence of glaze and we could not eat it. Waitress made it right by taking it off the bill. So we will try again. Atmosphere and decor were pleasing.

Helpful?
Thank PamelaDeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    75
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
213 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Consistently good Mexican food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went to the Mission pre show. Service was fast and efficient. I had the Brazilian black bean soup, it was just a bit spicy, but very good The burritos re made to order, with choice of meat, beans and sauce. They were hot and tasty. For an appetizer, everyone gets a large basket of chips with pico de gallo. The tres leche cake for dessert was a great way to end the meal! Overall, still a great place for Mexican.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Cuisine in Downtown Syracuse”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My friends and I dined at the Mission on a Thursday evening. The restaurant wasn't that crowded at all, and we were promptly seated and served. We started off with a pitcher of the house sangria, which was good, not great. I ordered the chicken burrito, which was massive. The chicken had been cooked in an assortment of Mexican spices and the flavor was quite nice. My girlfriend had a large order of the nachos, which were fairly standard.

The restaurant is in a restored old church that used to be a stop on the Underground Railroad during the mid 1800s, so it is quite a unique experience to dine inside.

All in all, if you're looking for some very good Mexican food and don't want to venture to far out of downtown Syracuse, the Mission is your best best. If you're looking for the best Mexican in Syracuse, however, be sure to try Alto Cinco on Westcott Street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaneSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,070 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Excellent sample of Latin American dishes”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

One of the best things about the place, besides the food, is that it's in a converted church complete with stained glass windows and pews, the latter to look at but not sit in. The basement was a site of the underground railway, running freed slaves to the north and freedom (it's not open for viewing). We had an excellent kebob of shrimp and vegetables. It was served with black beans, rice, and an inventive salad of orange slices and jicama. For starters we had chips and fresh tomato salsa and sweet potato soup. All in all, an excellent meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“bummer”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pros: can't think of any

Cons: Gave away our table while we were getting a drink at the bar, then made us wait 30 minutes even though there was a table available.
They don't have tequila here- Margaritas are made with wine (not as great).
Acoustics are horrible! Could not hear from one side of the table to the other.

In our party of six we all politely said the food was just "OK".

We were all excited about the birthday dinner we were sharing and since it was rated highly on Trip Advisor, we thought it would be great. We were wrong.

All of us would never go back here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Restaurant also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mission Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing