We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Hafner's Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #66 of 687 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liverpool, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I ordered a fruit and cheese plate as an apppetizer, and the crab cakes. First, the crab cakes were preordered and frozen, not freshly made, that was obvious. They were terrible, and small. Second, the fruit and cheese plate was an absolute joke. Seriously, I have never received a bigger joke of a menuitem from a restaurant in my entire life. The plate looked like a ghost town. It had more empty space than fruit or cheese! Two small, white unripe strawberries, two tiny slices of apple, a few tiny grapes (marble sized), one piece of crumbly strange cheese, and under 10 crackers. I took a photo of the plate and will post it here if I can.

Also, don't bring your young kids here to watch a game. The clientelle is composed of a bunch of foul-mouthed, classless idoots, yelling and swearing at the televisions as the game went on. Amazing how these people think they are in their own living rooms. Management does nothing about it.

Also, if you order wings, be careful, they trick you by charging extra for blue cheese. Terrible restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vitocool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hafners has a nice atmosphere, but the real prize here is the food. Everything is good,fresh,well made and far above average at reasonable prices.I always make it a point to eat here whenever I am the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CtLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Looking for a good meal or a great time, hit Hafner's Tavern!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The four of us stopped here while visiting a family member at a local rehab facility. This place was so well located and visible, and it appeared well liked before we joined in. With a nice atmosphere we were seated next to the fireplace, very warm ambiance. Having a vegetarian among us, we were hoping for a varied menu, and this worked out well, as several options existed. We enjoyed each having a different sandwich or burger, and we received pleasant service and witnessed it provided to other patrons as well. Getting in after a busy rush was over, the place did have a bit of used appearance, but we understood it had been stressful, and we we not disappointed with the food either. Hope to have a chance to stop by again in the near future, as other options sparked interest but we lacked room to try them all. Give these folks a try, and enjoy a good time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdkadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Like a big hug”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Walking in to Hafner's resturant, is like walking in your own front door and getting big hug,You are greeted as thought you are an old friend, and that warm welcome continues through out your entire dining experience.
The wait staff is warm, welcoming and very professional.The menu is huge,and everything is cooked to perfection.The atmosphere is so cozy that you feel like you are at a freind's home for dinner.
The prices are so reasonable that you will want to return again and again.After all, who doesn't welcome a big hug.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent family spot to eat!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a great spot to eat in North Syracuse. Great wings, drinks, and steaks. The staff is friendly and the food quality always high.
Will definitely go again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Runnerny2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hafner's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

North Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
North Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Hafner's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing