We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Denny's is growing on me.”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #119 of 690 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Denny's is growing on me.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Needed lunch and didn't want to do the drive through thing. Walked into Denny's. Clean, server that was professional and fast delvery of a tasting chicken sandwich. Selected the option of fresh raw vegatables (Celery, carrots) instead of fries... What a cool idea! Eating alone, I notice the friendly first name interaction with regulars, the blowing up of the colorful balloons for kids, and the manager washing the glass of the front two doors as you walk in. That's a first. I always thought of Denny's as the greasy spoon that I wouldn't be caught dead in, but two great experiences in row have it growing on me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmcasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at the Red Roof Inn across the street this past weekend. Went to Denny's 2 days in a row. Standard Denny's fare. Extremely busy on Sunday. Long wait but breakfast still very good. Great orange juice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
3,026 reviews
2,005 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 986 helpful votes
“OK, but better than most Denny's”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I've got to preface this review by admitting that I am not a fan of most Denny's, as I've problems with many of them in the past. However, this Denny's location was smooth and efficient, and put a good product on the table in rapid order, so I was impressed. Upon arriving, I told ,y waitress that I was in a hurry, and she told me that the kitchem was fairy empty, and that she's stay on top of my order, so it sounded good. I ordered a ham & cheese omelette, which came out in, less than five minuets. The omelette and the hash browns were both satisfactory (good even!), and well within my time constraints. They also brought my bill to me with the meal so that I could check out fast. All told, I was out of there in plenty of time, and with a good meal as well. I would return to this Denny's...good job!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had to eat breakfast here as the hotel breakfast was finished an hour earlier than we thought! We had a great breakfast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samhamscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nacho were gross”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I will stick to "breakfast only" at Denny's
We order lunch items and the food was gross ....
Nachos had a chalky cheese sauce and were not tasty at all.
Kid's menu mac n cheese was bland as rice paper .....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing