We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food was ok service was awful”

Mama Nancy's Restaurant
Ranked #127 of 683 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Syracuse
2 reviews
“food was ok service was awful”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Its not good when staff is to busy to handle Saturday night dinner rush. One waitress. But the food was not bad.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great example that you can't tell a book by the cover. This is a no frills very clean place to eat.Everything is very fresh and local when available. IF you didn't 't get to the state fair for your sausage sandwich then this is your chance-------delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColleenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latrobe
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Rather Disappointing After Hype”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The place was highly recommended as being outstanding. Since I pass through Syracuse quite often I like to try new places. Mama Nancy's is right at the Westbound entrance to I-690 on State Fair Boulevard. Exceptionally easy to get to with adequate parking. It is a large facility and the staff is friendly. The menu seemed very limited compared to many other local establishments. The food was adequate, with large portions, well prepared as requested but nothing out of the ordinary. For the size and quality the price was more than right. I had hoped for a meal and experience out of the ordinary since folks had raved about Mama Nancy's. 'Twas not to be. A good, average place, easy to get to with good prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank armedinfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
2 reviews
“Feels like home but no after diner dishes :-)”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the outside fool you, this place is one in a million. The staff was so friendly I felt as though I had been there a hundred times but it was my first. The food was fresh and piping hot. The coffee was classic diner coffee and tasted great. I had the beer battered haddock with homemade mac n cheese and broccoli, all of which was spectacular. Even my dinner date was impressed and that isn't easy to do. I've been sending people there since then and have only gotten positive feedback. Check it out and you will see for yourselves. ;^)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livingoutloud44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good diner with great prices”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Don't be off put by Mama Nancy's location. Nestled in between a cheap motel and a truck stop right off of the highway, Mama Nancy's serves up some very good diner food at excellent prices. The breakfast in a bowl (Fresh Biscuit, Hash Browns, Eggs,
Sausage Patty, Topped w/Sausage Gravy all in a bowl) is my personal favorite.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Nancy's Restaurant also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mama Nancy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing