We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad; I'm coming back for another try”

Mama Nancy's Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 690 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good & Bad; I'm coming back for another try”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A colleague told me about this joint, so I decided to give it a try. The food was delicous, in a diner/comfort food sort of way. To be honest, I did not finish my plate, the portions were so generous. (Am I correct that much of the food is from local farms/made from scratch??).

I was impressed that locals came to this out of the way place to eat dinner. Other reviewers were correct, in that this place is right off an interstate, situated between a trucker motel and a trucker gas station. Mama Nancy's is the place to go to on a cold winter's day.

The only negative point I want to make was that the service was a little slow, although there was only one waitress on duty the night I came in here.

I return to Syracuse in December and will give Mama Nancy's another try before I render a final verdict.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOBBY06831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marcellus, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Looks like a truck stop--but wait !”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A family member suggested we try this place. Looks like a truck stop, which it is, but just wait until you try the food. Over 100 menu items plus daily specials, you can't go away hungry. This is located on State Fair Blvd near Destiny USA. An easy on and off from rt 690. We have been going on Friday nights for seafood, chicken parm and other items. Wait until you see the cakes they have for desert. Want to taste first, just ask and they'll give you a piece large enough for every one to try. The whole family can eat here without breaking the bank.

Service was great and it is nice to have the waitress remember where you're from and what you had the last time you were there. Ask for Sandy, she's like no other waitress I've ever encountered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck13108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkston, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“pass on by”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

someone told us this was a good diner. WRONG it was not that good! Slow serve and average food. Would not go there again.
First time I'd ever seen tv's at each table probably hoping to distract you from the food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtland, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Breakfast anyone?”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

When I am in the Syracuse area I make it a point to stop at Momma Nancy's for breakfast.
Farm fresh, local eggs and meats. Good home cooking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“worst diner”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Go to any other diner but this one. Greasy steak, overcooked vegetable and lackadaisical service

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank STEPHEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Nancy's Restaurant also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mama Nancy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing