We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you crave Polish food...”

Eva's European Sweets
Ranked #14 of 687 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“If you crave Polish food...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Thursday night, family, dinner. Had driven by this place several times...thought it a take out at best..

Like stepping into Krakow. Old world decor, small, homey...great feel.

Everything from the app's to the beer either home made or from Poland. Pierogies were excellent---several varieties and available in multiple numbers (get the potato with butter and mushroom sauce). Golumpkies as good as it gets. Stews and the like excellent. Potato dumplings out of this world.The "hamburger" (forget the name of the dish)---like a spiced beef loaf with saurkraut/beans, etc. The potato pancakes and a similar dish with a spiced sauce outstanding. Simple peasant style food done incredibly well by a bunch of people who get it.

The owners talked about Diners, Drive Ins and Dives had visited and reviewed them. On TV soon.Not that it makes a seal of approval by that cred---but be advised this place will soon be "found".

6 adults, beer, more food than you can believe---total 118.00 for food, 25 for beers...as good a bargain as is available.

Run, don't walk to Eva's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stop off 90”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

we stopped at Eva's European in Syracuse for a late lunch. What an awesome pick. It was relatively easy on and off the highway. We shared a meat pierogi and a Gulasz & Kopytka (potato dumplings and beef stew). Everything was really good. The service was friendly and quick. The food was very good. I wish we could have eaten/tried more but we had to save room for a group dinner later. Since my driving shift was over, I also got to enjoy one of the beer selections

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RIBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Terrific food!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Worth searching out. Everything we had was terrific--pierogi, stuffed cabbage, potato pancakes, warm green bean salad. Great beer selection. The decor and atmosphere were homey and comfortable. Wonderful friendly and helpful staff. Delicious desserts, too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Awesome Polish food. everything we have tried there has been outstanding. from the kielbasa to the pierogi, everything is worth trying. My personal favorite is the Bigos (Hunter's Stew) delicious and hearty with suarkraut and chunks of beef and kilbasa, I could eat here everyday if my waistline would let me.
The deserts are also out of this world. I always try a different one, and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDS0006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEST POLISH FOOD”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is one of the best Polish restaurants anywhere. The food is AMAZING. Great selection of European beers also. Dessert is homemade daily. LOVE this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajgiantsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eva's European Sweets also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Eva's European Sweets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing