We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny building, tiny parking, huge portions!”

Mother's Cupboard Fish Fry
Ranked #29 of 683 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tiny building, tiny parking, huge portions!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

34 seats and 8 employees so everyone is covered. Had a very tasty Mexican omelet that took up 100% of the 12" plate for $8 n change. Couldn't finish it. Saw a pancake on the griddle that had to be 20" across! I think with the size of their portions they're compensating for the size of their parking lot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honestashol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
se ct
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tons of Food Doesn't Make it Great.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've been to a number of breakfast places in Syracuse at this point, and I have to say that I'm not getting the charm of this place, other than decent prices. If more than two people go, plan on waiting forever. My daughter cringed at the waitresses hands on the silverware; just didn't come across as clean in anything. And the fact that a pancake is bigger than your head doesn't make it great. It wasn't terrible, but I wouldn't go back either. I would take a waffle at Fun 'n Waffles any day. Or Stellas. Or DD Drive Thru. Fewer headaches, smaller crowd, cleaner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kambea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
274 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I can't decide whether I like Stella's Diner or Mother Cupboard's better. Mother C's serves huge portions of great food at very reasonable prices. It's not fancy, has maybe 8 tables, but the food is exceptional! The pancake is 12" and overlaps the plate. Everything we had was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
1 review
“breakfast”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

the best damn pancakes i have ever had.great service.pete green is very fun to watch.atmosphere.every thing on menu looks very good .the omlets are so huge they hang off your plate.easy to get at.what more could you ask for

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Huge Pancakes and Great Service!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If I was just driving past this restaurant, I would not have stopped there to eat, but it came highly recommended by my daughter's friends in Syracuse. It looks a bit run-down on the outside, but was bustling inside! We went on a Sunday morning (about 11:00am) and waited about 30 minutes to get a table. Each of the three of us had a pancake that was bigger than the plate it came on (no joke!) and coffee. My daughter ordered home fries and I had a side of ham. I honestly could eat only one third of my pancake and half of my slice of ham - it was delicious and very filling. We all took home some food, and the leftovers made a great lunch the next day! Our waitress was wonderful about making sure we had enough coffee and creamers; for as busy as the restaurant was, I did not feel rushed to leave at all. It was less than a 10 minute drive from the Syracuse University area and is definitely worth the wait if you enjoy diner-style food and service. We will be planning on going there again on our next trip to Syracuse!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank relaxabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Cupboard Fish Fry also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mother's Cupboard Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing