We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food; Friendly and Efficient Staff”
Review of Stella's Diner

Stella's Diner
Ranked #6 of 687 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food; Friendly and Efficient Staff”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We visited Stella's for the first time this morning as a result of its rating in Trip Advisor. Although we were fairly late for breakfast, around 11:00 on a Saturday morning, the place was packed and we were lucky to get two seats at the counter without a wait. The Omelet Diablo (Italian sausage, jalapeno peppers and pepperjack cheese) was outstanding, as well as the home fries with onions. The serving staff were especially friendly and helpful, and the prices made for good value. We'll return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hnd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    156
    41
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of Syracuse's Best Dinners”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Real dinner food, Solid portions, fast service, and waitresses with real dinner attitude.

If you are in the mood for a great breakfast this is the place to go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly Restaurant”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Second time here. Was a friendly, accommodating diner. There was a bit of a wait, but we had almost 15 people to accommodate. Staff was friendly, food portions HUGE & cooked to order. I even ran into a friend & her mom there! Great time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stella's "Great Breakfast"”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been to Stella's over 200 times and cannot say I ever had a bad meal there. The ambiance is good and you will probably meet some of your friends there like I do.
You get a good meal whether it be breakfast or a sangwich or dinner. I have had it all at Stella's and will go back again when I get back to Syracuse. Mary or one of her sisters greet you at the door and be prepared cause there might be a little wait. Make sure you sign in too so Mary knows your there. Once seated your drink will always be filled up and you will never have to ask.
The Italian toast is great and ask for Butter if you don't like margarine cause that is what they put on it. Breakfast sangwiches are big and tasty too. The lunch and dinner menu's are super too and you will get some home made cooking like Mom used to do. There are some Great breakfast places and Stella's is right up there with the Best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

went for dinner , service was good, waitress needs to smile more , order turkey with mash potatos
portion was huge, mash potato's were really good ,turkey was dry and wish there was more cranberry sauces to go with it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Diner also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Stella's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing