We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "Sangwich" In Syracuse”

Blue Tusk Pub & Wine Bar
Ranked #27 of 687 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Jersey
Level Contributor
427 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Best "Sangwich" In Syracuse”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Business has recently brought me to Syracuse and this is the absolutely best lunch option in Armory Square. So far I have done the #11 and #12 along with the roast beef deli sandwich. My quest now is to eat every one of their numbered sandwiches. Only suggestion would be to put some balsamic vinegar on the #12. They have Boar's Head cold cuts which is top shelf. Will be placing a large order next week for a work shop group.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    75
    21
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place has an excellent selection of beers, but it can be hard to get served depending on the time of day. You could say that they're victims of their own success, but still, the staff could show a little more hustle. Possibly the most overrated bar in Armory Square.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I don't want to serve myself.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great selections of draught but they want you to do all the work.
We left after finding out we had to not only locate a table for ourselves but also walk from the table to order food and beverage and then pick it up and deliver it to our table.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting place, cool menu”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Went to Blue Tusk with my family for lunch. I was hesitant to go because parking downtown is terrible, especially with all the construction right now...but that's not the restaurant's fault! We went a little after the lunch rush so parking wasn't too bad.
You have to order at the counter from a not so helpful hostess ...I think. Then they give you a pager that goes off when your food is done. There were 6 of us and 8 plates, which we had to pick up amd carry back to our table. The food is considerably cheaper than other restaurants in Armory Square, maybe its because you are your own waiter.
I ordered a goat cheese and mushroom quesadilla and it was very good. They put a ton of fresh basil in it which I picked out because it was over powering.
Everyone seemed to enjoy the quality of their food. Both of my brothers ordered salads, which they promptly ate in about 5 minutes then proceeded to pick off my plate. Their salads just weren't filling.
All in all, I'd say I'd go again if I knew I could get parking...if I have to search for parking, it's not worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lobster Sandwich :)”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was the perfect day to eat on the patio. As a non-smoker, I'm glad they separated two sides of the patio, so I could enjoy my meal. I sat on the side facing the street, it was nicely shaded and comfortable.

Service was good - one of the kitchen staff quickly explained to us after we walked in that we ordered and paid upfront and that there was not table service You get one of those buzzer things to tell you when your food is ready so that you can pick it up.

Food - I had the lobster sandwich which had a healthy amount of lobster meat in every bite. It came in a croissant bun which tasted fresh and was a great combo with the lobster. I highly recommend this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrackN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Tusk Pub & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Blue Tusk Pub & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing