We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal!”

Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 687 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The real deal!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This spot is a gem. Staff are top notch and it's not at all unusual for the owner to be in the house. His attention is obvious. An hour's drive for me, but well worth it! Like stepping into Ireland, but in Syracuse!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    188
    26
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

bartenders were very attentive, and the lunch was as good as any other lunch spot downtown. very impressed

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 660frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Irish Pub”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pubs are usually a good place to go to for good food and a nice atmosphere. Kitty Hoynes however, was definitely a cut above! Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Service was quick, efficient and friendly. We were asked when we arrived if this was our first visit and when we said yes, they took us around the Pub to show us the different areas so we could pick one that suited are tastes. This was a first for my wife and I.

The food is very very good. My wife had the fish and chips and I had the sheppard''s pie. I could have easily had a second if not third helping.

This Pub is rated the #1 restaurant in Downtown Syracuse. Now I know why and heartily endorse it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank haurock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pub food de luxe”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have never had better quality of food in a pub, and that at reasonable prices. That is what makes this restaurant/pub unique. The traditional pub & beer parts were good too.
I will come back next time I am in Syracuse.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyLinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Reuben ball appetizer is a must try”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great food with authentic Irish taste and Irish pub atmosphere. The rueben balls featured on diners, drive-ins and dives we Fantastic , the meal portions were so large we took home the extras. Service was top notch. Downsides are that reservations are recommended especially on weekend/ friday eve or whenever there is an event in downtown Syracuse. Parking is not a problem as there are parking garages within a block and the area is great for strolling after dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enrichmentacademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing