We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staple for lunch”
Review of Brooklyn Pickle

Brooklyn Pickle
Ranked #38 of 690 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“staple for lunch”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fresh Fresh food, great service, quick delivery, more than enough, prices are always fair, new items all the time, our lunch staple

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyDay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    41
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been going to the Pickle for 30 years. They're quality is consistent and prices are reasonable. Must go to stop when you're in the Cuse.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coachesteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a deli sandwich”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a good place to go for a deli sandwich when you are hungy as they pile the meat on. I always get a turkey on rye so can't say any more than my sandwich was alway tasty and filling and I keep coming back. A long time ago I worked close by and would go there for lunch and order for pick up and end up eating it there. Place is clean and staff is fast.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Went to the Brooklyn Pickle last night after reading all the great reviews about how it's the "best deli outside of NYC" and all the other hoopla. I'm originally from Brooklyn, so I think I'm a pretty good judge on what a good deli is. After all, this is supposed to be the #4 restaurant in Syracuse. First of all, the word "deli" is so misused. A deli is a kosher-style restaurant serving kosher style sandwiches. The Brooklyn Pickle DOES NOT serve this style of sandwich. So, right away, it's not a deli, it's just another sandwich shop (would you call Subway a deli because they serve pastrami?) You are blinded by a large amount of meat placed on the crappiest bread I have ever had at a sandwich shop/ It's large sliced soft bread. It looks like rye, but feels like white bread in your mouth. To their credit, there are a few items on the menu that give it a bit of the "deli feel"; pickles, knishes, and the must have, Dr. Brown's soda (albeit they don't have the Cel-ray soda.) Not to say that the BP is bad, it's just not warranting the #4 spot. It's the kind of sandwich you can make at home, and better. These cold cuts ARE NOT Boars Head. They're more like the store brands you can get at Wegman's or Price Chopper. Their sides are better than the sandwiches. Wake up Syracuse and liberate your taste buds! Brooklyn Pickle; good, but not great and DEFINITELY not comparable to any REAL deli in Brooklyn, the Bronx, or Podunk for that matter.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roccoz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I love this place. Any time I want a good sandwich or a quick meal I go here. I have never been disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklyn Pickle also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Brooklyn Pickle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing