We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appetizers make a meal”
Review of Clam Bar

Clam Bar
Ranked #19 of 687 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Portland
Level Contributor
346 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Appetizers make a meal”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

At first look, this looks like any dive bar. But when the food arrives, looks prove to be deceiving. My wife and I found so many tempting appetizers we decided to skip the main course and just kept the starters coming. Clams on the halfshell were great. Chowder, too. In fact, just about everything. Friendly service, too. We were staying downtown, but this is well worth the drive up north.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KommissarKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    84
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy, but good food.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Busy, cosy and popular, that pretty much describes this little bar-restaurant in North Syracuse.
We actually did not have to wait too long considering that we arrived around 5:30pm on a Rainy Saturday. Get your name in to the hostess right away if you can find her in the crowd. We had a twenty minute wait for a table and once you get through to the bar to order a drink, it only feels like another 10 minutes. The patrons are friendly and accomodating and everyone tries to avoid jostling each other while waiting patiently. The food specials are good quality at a reasonable price. I had a seafood and rigatoni dish that looked a lot like Pescatori over Rigatoni instead of linguini. It came with soup or salad and I always go for the soup, a delicious clam chowder.
My wife had a chicken and shrimp special with the salad and crumbly blue cheese dressing. It was all yum. There were no scraps left to take back to the room.
The Clam Bar was a great little place to warm up and make new friends on a cold and dreary Saturday night.
The locals were friendly and so was the staff.
We will return on our next shopping spree.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevanski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It is a small place, and the wait can be long, but it is worth it! There is a good variety of seafood, broiled, or fried. There are at least several daily specials. Portions are adequate, and are served with salad, side, and a loaf of bread with herbed butter. The bar is hopping all the time, and it can be a bit hard to hear, but the food is the main attraction!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best seafood place in Syracuse!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stop here every time we are in Syracuse. The restaurant is small, and sometimes there is a wait, but it is well worth the wait. The service is good and the food is always outstanding. My favorite is the linguine with clam sauce.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,983 reviews
1,978 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 963 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit...great specials!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We ate at the Clam bar again last night, and had another wonderful dinner. Everyone at our table ate off the "Specials" menu, and the results really were special. I had a dish of shrimp and scallops that were served over a variety of different vegetable raviolis. The entire plate was bathes in a wonderful Mediterranean sauce that complimented both the seafood and the pasta...it was REALLY good.

Our waitress was super friendly, and walked us through the list of specials, even telling us which ones were almost sold out, so we could "reserve" a dish if we really wanted one.

We really enjoy this restaurant. It's ot overly fancy inside, and the price is right too. But if you want a quiter table where it is easier to talk, ask for one in the back room, instead of in the bar room.

I do recommend this place quite highly, and will go back in the future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Bar also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing