We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great clam shack!”
Review of Clam Bar

Clam Bar
Ranked #19 of 683 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great clam shack!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just a great little place for seafood. Nothing pretentious, no gourmet ingredients or foodie type fare. Go for fish fry or clams or seafood of any kind. Don't go looking for upscale atmosphere or fancy shamansy side dishes. It's a clam shack, and a really good one. Expect lines- it's really good enough to line up for!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CtLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    84
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
195 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A truly hidden gem!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the exterior fool you, this place is amazing!

A small, intimate dining experience, the Clam has by far the most amazing food this side of either coast. The New England clam chowder is to die for! Using large chunks of shrimp, scallops, and clam, you absolutely can't go wrong.

The portion sizes are perfect for the price, but the best part is the food. The shrimp and clams taste like they were pulled from the ocean this morning...

Get to this place! You won't regret it...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Furious_storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Syracuse!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is a rare find. The seafood is as good as the best 'coast restaurants'. It is sometimes very hard to get a table- it's that good. Staff have obviously been there for years as they know everything on the menu by heart and seem to be on a first name basis with some of the customers. My husband doesn't like seafood so he got the steak and said it was fantastic. Close quarters and clientele make you feel like you're at party with old friends rather than dining out. No snooty people here, only friendly, welcoming locals including the owners. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mianellasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
370 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Don't judge this book by the cover, just GO EAT here!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having seen this place many times over the years, I looked up the website and saw what interested me, so we stopped in after visiting at the nursing home. Wow, this was a great choice! Inside looks something like a New England clam shack, but the food is all New England excellent...this has just hit a new high for local seafood in a simple format. I had the Louisiana Duo of broiled haddock and shrimp on a cast-iron platter - excellent flavor! Add the side of freshly made Onion Rings, and wow! Clam strips, scallops, and even grouper all laid out for the ordering, and enjoying! We dared end with sampling the Lemon Italian Cream Cake and Lori's Strawberry Shortcake - both incredible flavor and value. Next time we will try Chris's Chocolate cake, and the Peanut Putter Pie. Very friendly staff and a genuine atmosphere of simple "shackness" - this is a great find and a true keeper!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdkadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just happened to pull off the exit & find this place on our way up to Canada. Boy were we happy!! Food was out of this world & the atmosphere was great. Obviously a "local joint" that is always hoppin'! We've been back a couple times since then & are planning to return at the end of the month. Loved it!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daphne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Bar also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing