We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Munjed's Middle Eastern Cafe
Ranked #405 of 684 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the Middle of Syracuse's iconic Westcott Nation , Serving the best in homemade Middle eastern & Greek food since 1984. We have expaned to have a full bar , 6 Tv to watch your and our favorite Syracuse University Sports ! Serving Vegan & Gluten free items on our Menu. And useing our dance floor and stage all weekend long to entertain .We now host PAINTNITE SYRACUSE every wed, like our facebook page for events Thur Trivia at 7:30 always looking for new teams , Fri and sat Belly dance scheduled ( please like our facebook page for exact times and days ) also local musicians playing on our stage
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

For being the first and only middle eastern restaurant I've been to so far, I have nothing to compare it with but I'd say the food is pretty decent, and plentiful. Friendly waitstaff, nice music. Only thing I'd say against it is it is always dark inside, day or night..enough to give it a depressive air, and the seats are dingy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frostyfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hits and Misses”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We've been going to Munjed's for years. On our last visit, we experienced very good food as always, friendly but incredibly slow service, and an appallingly filthy bathroom. Which begs the question: If they allow the bathroom -- a public space -- to look that awful, what must the kitchen look like?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retrovirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
“Healthy and good”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Everything is made fresh daily....and it's delicious. Owner is warm and friendly and it's got a nice vibe to it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie Ophelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Greek/Middle Eastern restaurant is flawless. The small, cozy room is well decorated and soft middle eastern music lulls the patrons into a peaceful ambiance that sets the perfect stage for the transporting experience of the food. I think the mousaka is the best to be found in Syracuse and the hummus is second to none. The charred pita, falafel and spanikopita are reliable enough to take out of towners, fussy friends and Greek relatives with confidence. I loved the meal - and I suspect anyone - even non-fans - will find the tastes and smells exhilarating and satisfying. We're believers!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I crave it!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There aren't a lot of reasons I can come up with that really make me want to go back and visit Syracuse, but a Munjeds greek salad will becon me every time. It's fresh, full of flavor, and huge. This is no side salad. It's a MEAL! The people there are great, the wescott area is a fun little nook and the food is yummy! Check them out!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyg54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munjed's Middle Eastern Cafe also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Munjed's Middle Eastern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing