We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The brisket us unreal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Ranked #3 of 683 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The brisket us unreal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We went on the day that Cuse was playing the final four. Great atmosphere, cold beer and killer BBQ.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickeyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,232
    584
    174
    52
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sauce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stopped in Dinosaur for lunch after reading about it online. The restaurant was clean but dark and funky. The service was fast and friendly. I had the barbeque ribs with mac and cheese and collard greens. It was all good. The greens were a particular highlight. I liked the barbeque sauce (the original recipie) so much, I bought a bottle.

I'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa , Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Maybe the next time - its Take out !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife & I are great B.B.Q. lovers and had heard much about the Dinosaur and also to expect a wait anytime on a weekend - Thinking we could at least make it a pleasant wait at best , we showed up at 5:20 PM on a Saturday. After fighting through the crowd to the Hostess , we were told it would be at least 90 minutes if not 2 hours to get a table !! And you either stand in a very crowded couple of rooms or right on top of someone else eating at their table for 2 hours..!!! Maybe time to expand the restaurant to accomodate the crowds that do show up. If we try it again - It will be take out only as if they cannot handle even the crowds that show up in March - Lord only know what it looks like in nicer warmer weather.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank 3GirlsDad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Coming from the south, we weren't sure the BBQ could stand up to our standards. But, it was great! My son had the pulled pig, which was excellent--he liked the hot sauce better than the original. I had a trio plate--ribs, pulled pig and sliced beef brisket. All were great, I was really impressed by the brisket--it is often tough or chewy if not done right. This brisket was tender with a great smoky flavor. They also had a wonderful assortment of sides from mac & cheese to a cucumber tomato salad to collards. The ones we had were great--my son finished my mac & cheese for me! The only minus was how crowded it was. Our table was right next to the bar, and we were constantly jostled by the bar patrons--would definitely recommend waiting for a booth by the windows!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredHarveyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

After reading about this restaurant on Trip Advisor, we just had to check it out. Wow was this place busy for a Wednesday night. Despite the place being packed on a Wednesday night, we really enjoyed our meal. Our server Erin was really pleasant and you could tell that she enjoyed working here. We had the house special which consisted of 1/4 chicken breast w/ wing, 1/4 rack of pork ribs, cornbread, fried and baked beans. TREMENDOUS. If you are a fan of BBQ ribs and chicken, this is a must visit while in Syracuse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PMedKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing