We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the original”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Ranked #3 of 681 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Noank, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat the original”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Have been to their Harlem location many times and wasn't a fan. But eating at the original location changed my mind. Food was fantastic and the sides excellent.

Beer selection is great if you like craft beers.

If you come to Syracuse you MUST eat here and the wait isn't a problem as the bar is fantastic.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JA_Noank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,232
    583
    174
    52
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing bbq”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have never been disappointed with the food here and have only had bad service once. The mac & cheese is to die for and the black beans are amazing. Every type of meat I've had is equally delicious and is without compare. The atmosphere is grungy so don't come in your Sunday best and be prepared to have a finger lickin' good time! Also, it can be a bit loud and crowded for dinner, so if you want to avoid that, ~2-4pm is a nice quiet time to have great bbq with fast service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it...........”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had heard that the Dinosaur was a must do while in Syracuse. I was not disappointed. We went on a Saturday around 4pm. There was a line outside the door, but we were told it would only be 20 minutes to wait. We got some drinks and were able to return to the sidewalk to wait our turn. It was really only 20 minutes until our table was ready. The service was prompt but not pushy. The menu selection was a bit overwhelming, having never really had BBQ before. The beer selection was impressive, with a nice selection of higher end craft beers. Our food choices included the fried green tomatoes, which I highly recommend, as well as a selection of pulled pork, beef brisket, and ribs. Everything was great. The sauces are creative, and accented the wonderful smoky flavor of the meat. Overall, a great experience. ( I even bought a tee shirt)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrymckmcd0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Love the fancy fried green tomatoes! It's a real honky-tonk place. Get there early or stand in line! They do a great job at smoking their meats.

Helpful?
Thank ekg14830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“always a delicious meal!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

love their bbq pork and chicken, and ribs. have eaten in several of their locations, and always look forward to a meal there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing