We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and obnoxious - but the food is good”
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Ranked #2 of 690 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Syracuse, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud and obnoxious - but the food is good”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a joint primarily catering to bikers, and this fact will be shoved down your throat even before you enter. Went with family, had to wait an hour. The staff is obnoxious and they wear it like a badge of pride. We were seated outside on the sidewalk, almost in the road...and were forced to inhale smoke from people smoking right next to us....UGHHHH! Then they started playing what sounded like (incredibly bad) live music over the speaker. The food was quite good (especially the ribs!!), but the bad/rude service, the trashy atmosphere and the long wait make you wonder if it's really worth it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCepicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,310
    620
    180
    56
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would you wait 2-hours to eat at Dinosaurs BBQ? YES!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Dinosaur's BBQ in Syracuse NY is a fabulous experience! Well worth the wait - 2-hours (especially true on Friday / Saturday nights). I would recommend going during the weekday to expedite the food to your mouth! This well awarded, noted, and recognized Dinosaur's BBQ has not changed in years and should be it's own food group! Everything was delicious, hot and well priced. Service is equally noted as great for such a busy night. Portions were just right.
It is very noisy on the weekend nights - so quit talking and get on feasting!
I have done BBQ all across the south and if you haven't done Dinosaur's - you haven't done BBQ.
My only complaint: why isn't there a Dinosaur's BBQ in all 50-States?

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRAYOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good... But...”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Both my wife and I had the brisket plate. It was pretty good, but we've had much better. We were both kind of disappointed as we were looking forward to the meal after hearing about the place on Man vs Food. The atmosphere is good, a little loud but it isn't the type of place you go to have a conversation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StefanLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Boy were we glad we visited Dinosaur BBQ for an early dinner as the line up of people waiting for a table was huge for a rainy Wednesday at 5:30pm! Yes the blogs and foodies are correct this is an amazing place for great BBQ ribs, brisket and even a simple roasted chicken was the best! Kick myself for not trying the wings with wango tango sauce. Even the sides were great, usually they are just fillers but trust me, Cole slaw, corn bread that had a perfect balance of sweet to salt not to mention the Mac and cheese. If you order too much don't worry you will not stop eating it is that good, yikes, I better not say too much or the wait time for a meal may even be longer!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadtripjunkie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must go to experience.”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

After reading all the reviews, we had to go. The food was very good and huge portions,but it was not the best you will ever eat. I have worked in the industry for over 15 years and could see what was coming out of the expo line. The food comes flying out and NOT hot, but lukewarm. To feed that busy restaurant out of a 5 foot window, the food is coming out of chaffing dishes. Waitresses were always moving which was great to see.
Fried green tomatoes- alot of breading. Tres Hombres- Great value and huge.
NO KIDS MENU- Very bad since they order off the adult al a carte. If I can't eat my portion how can a kid?

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emart97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing