We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Chinese”
Review of China Road

China Road
Ranked #214 of 687 Restaurants in Syracuse
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Place has no atmosphere, although the website makes it look quite elegant, but the food is worth the trip. There is your standard Chinese fare, but also a more traditional menu which contained dishes I was too conservative to try but sounded fascinating. I had the Ruby Chicken, which was good but too hot for my palate these days; husband had the Orange Beef, which was thin and crispy in a nice, thick, spicy sauce. We also had the sesame noodles as an appetizer, which were delicious, and the fried onion pancake, which was too oily. The service was excellent and the owner/chef came out and greeted us when we left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food between here and Chinatown, NYC...”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best Chinese restaurant period in Central New York. The owner comes from NYC and brought it up here. No if, and or but... The best Chinese Restaurant Upstate New York.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but less spicy”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

You can get really traditional Chinese food here. Just order the chef's recommendations. Not as spicy as we expected. An old waiter was very funny and treated as well.
Overall, it will be a good choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WenqianLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“underwhelmed”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

went here to take a "break" from eating at the awesome Strong Hearts Cafe and was disappointed with their veg/an selection. starter of spicy veg dumplings arrived frozen in middle (they comped it), veg chicken was dry/rubbery, our other dish was equally forgettable. super nice owners/staff and while i commend them having a decent veg/an selection it unfortunately didn't live up to other veg/an asian restaurants i have eaten at :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xshawnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This is "real" Chinese food for those who do not know of anything else.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I am Asian and from a populated Asian city in Noth America. My family was passing thru and needed to have dinner. Reviews sounded astranomical so decided to go. I can't begin to tell you how small, salty, bad taste and over priced this place was. Need not say more other than the title.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsianTravel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Road also viewed

 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to China Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing