We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst marriott experience that I've ever had - Youtube video:”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Denver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My worst marriott experience that I've ever had - Youtube video:”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

So bad I shot a youtube video: http://youtu.be/bXRE8DX1yu4

My worst marriott experience that I've ever had. Traveling for work, I'm a Marriott member. I enjoy staying at Marriott hotels. This one happened to be my worst experience with this chain, however. Most of the details were minor on their own until I was kept awake at 2:50am for more than an hour while snow plows outside were clearing a particular street (it had not snowed recently, by the way, I actually shot a video from my room showing no new snow on the rooftops. Next was the sink which was barely connected to the counter, and finally the towel rack that fell apart when I touched it. All around terrible job for one of the more expensive marriotts in Western New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DealinDoug24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Wefers, General Manager at Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
As I mentioned in our previous communication, I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I am truly sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. I have shared your video and comments with our entire team in order to address feedback related to our facilities. Like you, we were extremely dismayed with the City of Syracuse's unfortunate decision to move snow banks in the middle of the night. Had we been notified prior to the work commencing, I assure you we would have voiced serious concern for our visitors. We have spoken to representatives at City Hall about our displeasure with the disruptions faced by our guests. We are a brand new hotel in a great location and we are proud to be part of the revitalization of Syracuse. When your travels bring you to Syracuse again, I would be honored if you gave us a second opportunity to provide you with an enjoyable stay.

Warm Regards,
Jim Wefers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    20
    10
    13
See reviews for
50
37
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Syracuse for a basketball game. The staff was very nice but the cleaning staff did not do a very good job with cleaning our king suite before we arrived. The glasses on the counter were very dirty and clearly not cleaned, ironically they were wrapped in plastic with a sticker that said "Sparkling Clean" which was not the case.
On our second day, we discovered a device laying against the wall by the TV, to our surprise it appeared to be drug paraphernalia. We promptly took the device to the front desk and were told that the issue would be addresses by the cleaning manager. I have to believe that a complete inspection of the room would have prevented is from going through this experience. The staff did apologize but the entire experience really calls into question how much the cleaning staff actually did to prepare our room before we arrived. I have stayed at many hotels and this was by far one of the most disturbing experiences.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Wefers, Manager at Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Mike, thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Courtyard. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to extend our most sincere apologies in regards to the item you recovered in your room. The lack of thoroughness on the part of our housekeeper and room inspector fell horribly short of your expectations as well as ours'. I can also assure you that your comments and actions have prompted a new level of awareness among our entire staff and have given us yet another tool for training and development of our employees.

In no way is your experience at the Courtyard acceptable or indicative of the level of service we expect to provide for our guests. I hope that, should you return to Syracuse, you will offer us chance to improve on your impression of the Courtyard at Armory Square.

Regards,
Matthew Graber
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a brand new hotel and has very nice facilities. The positives are nice rooms, free internet, great gym and many local bars and restaurants. The valet parking is a bit of a pain but overall this is much better than staying out in Carrier Circle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBarker34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Wefers, General Manager at Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your recent experience at the Courtyard Armory Square. We're glad you enjoyed our brand new amenities and central location near Syracuse's best restaurants and bars. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay!

Jim Wefers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I spent a night here with girlfriends for our winter party. It is convenient to Armory Square restaurants and shopping and it meant we could have our dinner, wine and not have to drive after. The hotel is immaculate and the staff friendly. Something like this is just what the square needed. But for a Saturday night in December, the bar closed a bit too early so we had to rush our cocktails.

Tasteful decor throughout, especially in the suite.

Room Tip: Lovely two room suite available made it a real party place for four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettysDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Wefers, General Manager at Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear BettysDaughter, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Courtyard in Downtown Syracuse. Our location in Armory Square really does allow visitors to explore the best of Syracuse without having to venture too far from the hotel. I know that our staff with appreciate your comments as well. We hope to host your next getaway at the Courtyard.

Jim Wefers, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
406 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I just wanted to say this hotel was so clean. Everything was perfect. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of there way to assist me. It was in walking distance to many restaurants. The staff went above and beyond to get my computer working, giving directions to local restaurants and even getting me a taxi. The have a Bistro and a Market for snacks and drinks.

The only issue was the heating system was noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimefamily12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The rooms were modern and cheery. We had a view overlooking the main street. The staff was very helpful and the valet parking very convenient. We wished there were a mirror outside of the bathroom as two women sharing a room, it would have been helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight last Saturday on a cold, below-zero night in Syracuse. It was good to have a convenient valet service. The location was excellent, with an outstanding local Irish Pub directly across the street. The rooms were clean, comfortable and modern. The only thing odd was that the shower stalls didn't have soap dishes. All in all, we would stay again when we had the opportunity.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 2nd floor or facing the street. Our room looked directly over the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Wefers, General Manager at Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Bob, thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Syracuse! I'm glad that our valet service offered an easy escape from the frigid weather! I will be sure to pass along your comments during our next staff meeting. Kitty Hoynes is a Syracuse treasure and we are fortunate to be so close. I hope to welcome you back again during your next stay in Syracuse.

Warm Regards,
Jim Wefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.1 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 32 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 32 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square

Property: Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square
Address: 300 W Fayette St, Syracuse, NY 13202-1202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Syracuse is located in Armory Square near University Hill, hospitals and the central business district. Distinct in its location and amenities, including indoor pool, valet parking and outdoor seating, the new Syracuse hotel is within walking distance to dozens of restaurants, shops, and attractions. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and Marriott's digital GoBoard™. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Syracuse Downtown at Armory Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing