We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for kids”

Museum of Science & Technology
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Milton J. Rubenstein Museum of Science & Technology is a hands-on science museum for people of all ages covering everything from Nano science to dark matter. We have hundreds of exhibits filling 35,000 square feet of space, as well as the only public planetarium in Central New York and the only domed IMAX(R) theater in New York state. Our mission is to be a pre-eminent science and technology center, inspiring all generations through hands-on education and entertainment. Have the MOST fun while you discover, learn & play!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Atwood, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for kids”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My daddy bought me a membership here so we can go anytime we want. The kids play area is an amazing obstacle course that has air powered ball guns, slides, and all kin of cool stuff. The museum attractions are very hands on and kid friendly, and the IMAX is always fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    92
    39
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good experiments, simple explanations”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a place that everyone will like...child or adult. You may also be able to catch a nice IMAX movie in the attached theater.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunitmathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse,ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hands on Science Museum”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an excellent, compact, Science Museum. Easily done in a day, less, if desired. Large climbing section for kids about 24 mos thru 10 or 11 years?! The IMAX movie theater is great. Larger cities have larger museums, but this has a good mix of hands-on activities, along with just "look" items. Sesame Street area is great for the littlest ones! Located in Armory Square, there are sub shops to very nice dining style restaurants within steps of the museum! Pay to Park garage across the street - I think it was around $5 - $7. Have fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cathysyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYS
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A great time for 8-12 year olds”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For your young science enthusiast this is a wonderful hands on experience that gives exposure to a variety of interests from modeling to serious research. Entry level science. For older kids this is boring.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrOfAvarici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“May Be for Older Kids”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My daughter and son-in-law were visiting, so we took the grandchildren to the museum. They are 3 and 5 years old. Some of the exhibits fascinated them, but many did not seem to be geared to young kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gayle923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science & Technology also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Museum of Science & Technology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing