We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time I am disapointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is the second time in four years I am staying at this hotel. The first time was four years ago during a severe snow storm, we were late to check in but had called several times to inform the front desk that we were on our way but would be very late. When we arrived and they gave our room away, so we were placed in a non smoking room, we reserved smoking. The young man at the desk did not know which rooms in the building were smoking. After several changes we finally settled into a room at 3:00 am. This time a smoking room was booked through Priority Club but the reservation was made as a non smoking room. Today we arrived about fifteen minutes early, and we had to wait to check in. At exactly 3:00 pm we were told our room was ready, all three of us asked if it was smoking and the young woman told each of us YES! We get to the room unpack settle in to relax. The phone rings, it is the front desk, he advises us we are in the wrong room but not to worry he will fix it. My friend who smokes looks for an ashtray but there isn't one, she calls housekeeping for one, a few minutes later the phone rings again. The young man at the desk informs us that this is not a smoking room and that if we do smoke there is a $200.00 cleaning fee he will add to our bill. I go down and try to make sense of it all, but he says we are in the wrong room, she can't smoke or we will be charged and he may be able to move us but not until the morning. We told him we would switch hotels and to that he answered, too bad we already charged you card for the night. We travel extensively, and we are in the Syracuse area every year at this time, but we can't find a hotel that seems to know what they are doing. The rooms are clean the beds are comfortable and each room has a full kitchen. It really is a pleasant place to stay except that the front desk needs to get it together and know how fulfill the needs of the customers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corniemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear corniemom,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had low expectations for any hotel in this still recession wracked city, and we had never heard of Candlewood Suites, a newcomer to tow, but we could not have been happier with our choice. The hotel is located on a somewhat depressing street of strip malls, as expected, but it is within walking distance of the airport where we were flying out the next day. The street also had both a grocery store and a good cafe right across the street. The price was very reasonable, especially for a spacious comfortable suite. Our grown 6'3 son slept in a very comfortable sofa bed in the living room, while we had the bedroom. Great TV's in both rooms, wi-fi, a full kitchen including a full size frig, an two closets that allowed us to put everything away and just enjoy the suite. The room was very good for the price, but it was the service that really put this hotel over the top for us. The hotel provided prompt friendly courtesy shuttles to all local restaurants as well as to the airport. They not only provided a second shuttle to take out son to his flight later in the day, but gave him very late checkout so that he could work in the room until his flight left. To get late checkout you need to join their rewards club, but it was easy to sign up via phone before we arrived, and it was very kind of the assistant to tell us about the program--and free late checkout-- in advance. I visit the Syracuse area once or twice a year to see family, and I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgnmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed one night and left our car here for a week.The first room we were assigned had a horrible smell-they apologized and immediately provide another room. This is a basic accommodation that we found to be comfortable,friendly and very convenient for park and fly.
On our return to the airport the shuttle picked us up within 5 minutes, took us directly to our car and we were on our way. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this property for one night with a park and fly package. It was a stay of both postives and negatives.

First off, the positives: the staff were wonderful. The front desk ladies were friendly, responsive, and quick to assist whenever needed. When we were faced with the prospect of our flight to Florida being cancelled due to the effects of Hurricane Isaac, they quickly went to work to assure us that we would not be without a room should our flight plans be cancelled (we were there during the New York State Fair and the hotel was at almost 100% occupancy). We were very appreciative of their extra efforts and reassurance.

Laundry facilities are abundant and free....another positive.

The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The decor, however, was rather plain and drab.

The onsite fitness center was a nice bonus.

The location is excellent....several dining options in very close proximity, and the airport is just a couple of minutes away. The airport shuttle is free, prompt, and the driver was very friendly.

Priority Club points.....as a PC member, we got the expected perks (complimentary late check out, etc.) AND those wonderful Priority Club points that add up nicely over time.

Now, the negatives.

The SMELL. Yuck, yuck, yuck. We booked (and were assigned) a non-smoking room, but the stench of stale cigarettes was so awful upon entry that we requested to be moved. The cleaning staff were VERY kind about moving us from room to room until we found one we could live with, but the smoking smell seems to be everywhere despite the efforts otherwise. The front desk told us they have been approved to go smoke-free as of January 1st, which is great, but this issue coloured any positive experiences at this hotel. In addition to the cigarette smell, there were other pervasive odours in our room....one, in particular, made the room and hallways smell like a veterinarian's office (perhaps it was one of the cleaners they use in the smoking rooms....I am not sure) but it was equally as offensive.

No pool. We knew this upon booking, but we missed the ability to enjoy an evening swim more than we expected.

The staff saved this experience for us. Without their nice people, this property would have earned a rating of 2. Because their staff came through with kindness and attentiveness, I will bump them to a 3. That said, I would never consider this property again for a park and fly until the the stale stench of cigarettes is permanently eradicated. My lungs can't take the current condition, and there is a fresher option across the parking lot at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina-Gina-Bo-Bina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Gina-Gina-Bo-Bina,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am glad that our location sufficed your needs and you had a good experience with our staff. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities are superior. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations, especially with the room accommodations received.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Before you book, make sure you understand that this is NOT a hotel. They DO NOT provide daily housekeeping service. I stayed here 2 nights and they never came in once to make the bed, change towels, throw out garbage...etc. I paid over $130 per night and felt totally cheated. I then realized, this is not a hotel at all. It is an extended stay suite.

The furnishing in the rooms are more like a college dorm. There was a funny odor in the room and hallways and the people hanging in the parking lot and lobby looked a bit strange. The bed was not comfortable, felt like I had gone back to college. Apparently I missed the placard in the bathroom which informed me that housekeeping services were not done and if you wanted new towels, you can exchange them yourself at the front desk. I was reminded of this during checkout. None of this was mentioned in any of the advertising and promotions that I reviewed when booking. This is lousy marketing and a total disappointment, considering that there were other hotels nearby that were less money and did provide clean towels and bed service.

Please be aware when booking that this is not a hotel and you should consider staying elsewhere due to it's poor service and lack of amenities.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel. It is an extended stay. They do not provide daily housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iHeart2Workout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Miami-Ed,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your detailed review. The Candlewood Suites hotels are our extended stay hotels, and are meant to make you feel more at home. Our signature hotel amenities allow you to live, work, and relax in much the same way you would in your own home without feeling like you’re in a hotel. We offer weekly housekeeping as well as fully stocked kitchens in your room. We do not have a restaurant on property, but offer our Candlewood Cupboard where you can pick-up a variety of food, beverages, and even toiletry items whenever you want.

IHG offers a variety of options for what you are looking for. If you need an extended stay hotel offering free breakfast we have our Staybridge Suites. If you are looking for a hotel with daily housekeeping as well as complimentary breakfast our Holiday Inn Express hotels would be a good fit. Our Holiday Inn and Crowne Plaza hotels offer daily housekeeping and are full service
hotels with a full service restaurant on property.

We apologize our Candlewood Suites was not the right fit for you. We are also very sorry for any problems you experienced with the hotel staff service and our internet service. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is not hotel. Is as suite facility. The furnishing the rooms are more like basic college dormitory furnishing, not hotel quality. There is a full-size fridge, a two burner stove, sank-a mini kitchen which is stocked with the very basics. A very very loud air-conditioner, worked well, but could not hear the TV when air-conditioner was on. Most importantly, there is NO DAILY HOUSEKEEPING SERVICE. No one changes towels, makes a bad oranges trash. Apparently based on a placard found in the room, housekeeping services are on a weekly basis. If you want new towels, you can exchange them yourself at the front desk. None of this was mentioned in any of the advertising and promotions that I reviewed when booking.

I had prepaid through hotels.com. When I arrived, the receptionist was talking on the phone the entire time I was at the desk. She never said one word to me except when she asked me for my credit card. She did however put the phone down and yell across the room to the maintenance man because, "someone was having trouble with your TV-could get sound but no picture".

This suite facility is not inexpensive, and there are many other hotels in the immediate area which are less expensive and offer hotel services. Please be aware when booking that this is not a hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a hotel, find something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MMouseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you your review. I am extremely sorry that the desk clerk was not attentive when you arrived. We are a very busy hotel and I am sure she was making a reservation or taking care of a guest’s request. I wanted to respond to you and let you know that we ARE in fact a hotel operating under the Candlewood Suites Flag that is part of IHG Hotels. The concept for the Candlewood suites is one of "like being at home" The hotel model is set up for extended stay guests, that may be staying here for 7 plus nights. That is one of the reasons we have fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators and microwaves. This also why we offer free guest laundry and items to be purchased in our Candlewood Cupboard. The hotel model is built this way for housekeeping as well, which is why we do not offer daily housekeeping. I am sorry that you were unaware of the Candlewood concept before booking and hope this further explains the brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our stay at Candlewood Suites was the result of a crisis at home and the need to leave while repairs were made. It was a stressful time and, while the accommodations at Candlewood Suites are wonderful, it's the staff I can't say enough about. The service was incredible - always cheerful - always ready with a smile - always there to lend a hand. This wasn't just one person - it was every single member of the staff - absolutely amazing ! Thanks to all the employees of Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse North Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
1.3 mi away
Best Western Syracuse Airport Inn
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
Comfort Inn Carrier Circle
#22 of 31 in Syracuse
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport

Address: 5414 S Bay Rd, Town of Salina, Syracuse, NY 13212-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $94 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. We are the closest hotel to the airport. This quiet gorgeous hotel is not only neighboring Hancock International Airport (SYR), but also offers easy access to I-81 and I-90, which gives you convenient access to all of Syracuse including Syracuse University, The Carrier Dome, The New York State Fairgrounds, Carousel Center-DestiNY USA, The OnCenter, and much more.Candlewood Suites-Syracuse Airport offers 124 spacious suites with amenities including full kitchens, DVD players, and free high-speed Internet. The Candlewood Suites hotel features a large and well equipped fitness center, free guest laundry, as well as the Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites-Syracuse Airport also gives you a variety of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well as access to our complimentary Airport Shuttle providing transportation to the airport or any of the immediate area restaurants. Pets are welcome with a fee.Current vaccination record must be shown, and pet policy must be signed at check-in. Typically room cleaning once checked in, is provided once every 7 days. Visit with our friendly Guest Service Representatives for information on Syracuse anytime as our Front Desk is open 24 hours day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport Hotel Syracuse
Candlewood Suites North Syracuse
Candlewood North Syracuse
North Syracuse Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing