We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ummm.....huh.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ummm.....huh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our experience was fine. Just fine. Rooms were clean. Beds were comfy. Location was fine. Room had lots of kitchen goodies for an extended stay. But everything just seemed slightly......off. The door to the bathroom was so big and the bathroom was placed so centrally that it felt like it was in the middle of the room. Great desk space for 1 and chair with ottoman. But we felt like we were always right on top of each other. Don't know why....but everything just felt a bit...off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertsJollyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our property. The layout of the room was done in such a way so they could fit all the other amenities such as the cook top stove and full refrigerator in the space that was alloted. We are happy to hear that everything was "fine" however we strive for everything to be "great". Please contact me directly if there are somethings you can tell me that we can improve on to make your next experience GREAT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    74
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
84
54
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

stayed here for about 6 weeks and the staff treated me like family.i was able to relax and be myself all though i was there for work it felt like a vacation. Meagan and her staff was a joy to be around and very helpful. on my last day there we grilled out and the the staff enjoyed my cooking. If you ever are in that area this hotel is the place to be,i recommend it you can even use my name Mack u might even see the pictures we took.

Room Tip: 3rd flooris the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bajan7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for the great review Mack. We enjoyed having you and the rest of the crew staying with us for the duration of your project. I am glad that Megan and the staff made you feel like you were home instead of in a hotel. We strive for all of our guests to feel the same way. Thank you for cooking for all the staff on your last day here, they enjoyed it very much. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Have a great rest of the summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We were originally heading in for a quick 1 night shopping trip and ended up extending for extra night because it was so nice!

We had a studio (201). It had 2 double beds, a huge bathroom and a full kitchen with full fridge, 2 stove elements, a giant microwave and a dish washer. The room was big and clean and definitely exceeded our expectations.

We didn't use it but they did have a shuttle van outside of the hotel that went to the airport.

The hotel wasn't close to shopping but we'd never been to Syracuse before so we weren't too sure where to book. It was easy enough to get around to the Carousel Mall, and no more than 15 minutes.

Definitely a great hotel and we'll be back next time we're in Syracuse!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shorty808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank You for your glowing review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our shuttle will also take guests with in a 3 mile radius of the hotel, including Carousel Mall. So please take advantage of not having to find a parking spot at the mall and let us drive you next time ! We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed here in November 2011 for one month, its a nice clean place to stay, rooms are big, and staff people are good and helping, but if have to do most of things on your own placing your luggage into the room etc.., rooms get clean weekly, there is free access to a nice GYM and laundry(you have to pay for detergent though) , also WIFI is there with reasonably good speed.
This place is near to airport, and there are places to eat just across the road, like McDonald etc, also Tops .
and there is Bus stop near to hotel for for City transit.

P.S. they charge high rates for long distance calls with in US, so even you are calling to nearer state ready to pay high phone bills,, better not to use it

Room Tip: Choose room with window, don't you phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chandan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I was sent to this Hotel By Delta Airlines becuase of a Flight Cancellation...Starting from Mel. who checked me in and ending with James who Called for my shuttle and checked me out and the Shuttle driver himself (whos name escapes me) ,were Stellar and Perfection . This Hotel is ***** 5Stars in my opinion. The Customer service was beyong accomodationg..they cared about me as if I was family @@@ The Rooms are SPOTLESS...I mean Really SPOTLESS....everything was bright and shiny, including a Full size fridge, a coffee pot, toaster, sink , dishes and the most comfortable bed I have slept in in a very long time. Kudos to you and your staff Candlewood, You are a Credit to the Hotel Industry and a Fine example to all Syracuse Hotels and Inns. BRAVO BRAVO !!!!!

Room Tip: Perfect Location, right near airport, you will not hear a plane, I assure you,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Elaine-

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this outstanding review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your great comments with our team members and recognized Mel and James for being singled out in your review. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you in the future if you are ever in the Syracuse area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Qc
Level Contributor
366 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The price was very good for what we got. We rented a room with kitchenet. The kitchen had all the ustensiles, pots and pan. We even use the brand new gas grill outside and the land you the BBQ tools for free at the desk. The room was very clean and spacious enough. The person at the desk was very nice and greeted us a warm welcome upon arrival. The location just north of Syracuse is excellent. It is close to the the ballpark. We loved our stay and would defenitively stay there again when back in Syracuse !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am happy that you were able to make use of the new grill that we purchased last month. We strive for all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay as you did. We wish you well and look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Syracuse area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked this room for my wife who was traveling to see our son at Fort Drum. After a long day of travel, she arrived at the Syracuse Airport and immediately called the hotel for the shuttle. She waited 25 minutes for the shuttle and then called back. The person said that he had forgot to tell the shuttle bus driver. Upon arriving at her room, she noticed there was no remote for the tv, the heater vent was falling out of the roof, there was sand on the floor, the toilet was dirty and there were candy wrappers on the floor. The only good thing about the experience was that the manager ended up comping her room due to the problems.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nvboatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that the room was less than desirable that your wife was checked in to. I am sorry that the ball was dropped when she was trying to catch the shuttle. As seen in the other reviews listed here on Tripadvisor, this was an isolated incident and not the normal experience for our guests at the hotel. We always strive to provide great service and have clean rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Syracuse Airport
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse / Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Syracuse Airport Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Airport
5.1 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport
Address: 5414 S Bay Rd, Town of Salina, Syracuse, NY 13212-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. We are the closest hotel to the airport. This quiet gorgeous hotel is not only neighboring Hancock International Airport (SYR), but also offers easy access to I-81 and I-90, which gives you convenient access to all of Syracuse including Syracuse University, The Carrier Dome, The New York State Fairgrounds, Carousel Center-DestiNY USA, The OnCenter, and much more.Candlewood Suites-Syracuse Airport offers 124 spacious suites with amenities including full kitchens, DVD players, and free high-speed Internet. The Candlewood Suites hotel features a large and well equipped fitness center, free guest laundry, as well as the Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites-Syracuse Airport also gives you a variety of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well as access to our complimentary Airport Shuttle providing transportation to the airport or any of the immediate area restaurants. Pets are welcome with a fee.Current vaccination record must be shown, and pet policy must be signed at check-in. Typically room cleaning once checked in, is provided once every 7 days. Visit with our friendly Guest Service Representatives for information on Syracuse anytime as our Front Desk is open 24 hours day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Syracuse Airport Hotel Syracuse
Candlewood Suites North Syracuse
Candlewood North Syracuse
North Syracuse Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing