We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Syracuse Stage

Syracuse Stage
Ranked #14 of 64 things to do in Syracuse
Attraction details
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Classy theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The play was first rate. Although a bit strange we enjoyed the theater experience the seating was very unusual, audience facing each other.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

After sixteen years of living in NYC, I was spoiled, and I sometimes find it hard to enjoy regional theater. So when a friend said we should go see A Midsummer Night's Dream, I wasn't too enthusiastic. Poorly done Shakespeare can make for a long evening. But I sucked it up and went. I was blown away by the caliber of the performance, the costumes, staged direction and scenes. It was better than many performances of Shakespeare in the Park that I had been to many times in the past. The theater is a nice size and the seating was comfortable. All in all, it was a great evening and I am sad that my big city attitude kept me away from this great place for so long.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennishulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
369 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 828 helpful votes
“Excellent performance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a treasure. Performances are just wonderful and fabulous. Professional and local actors make the performance a pleasure to see. Very accommodating staff and the seating and sound was great. Great location and fairly inexpensive for the quality performance you attend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nyfamily1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always A Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We saw White Christmas in December. Great show. We were in the first row of the balcony, great seats! All seats have a good view, we have sat in various locations around the theatre. Friendly staff, great productions!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneOswego_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Two Trains Running at Syracuse Stage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were able to catch the last performance of August Wilson's 'Two Trains Running' last Sunday, and it was a wonderful performance. We were in town for the weekend, looking for something to do on a very cold night and found this option on Trip Advisor. We got Rush tickets for 50% off the day of the show at the box office, which was a bargain. The show was great and the theatre was excellent. Very much like Rochester's GEVA theatre, with a great view from every seat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mfarnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syracuse Stage also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Syracuse Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing