We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet old hotel full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It's fun and increasingly difficult to stay in a hotel which has some character and a unique place in the local landscape, so it was a pleasure to find the Jefferson Clinton.

It's an elegant building with stylish furnishings. The location is great, near lots of nice independent shops, bars and restaurants (ie not a ghetto of cookie cutter Starbucks/Subways). Our room was small but nicely turned out and the staff were super-friendly and helpful. It was great that after a long day of driving down from Canada we were able to leave our car on the street and the receptionist took the key, went out to find the car and moved it into their lot, leaving us free to sample the offerings of the Empire Brewing Company brewpub in the next street. They also have an omelette station/chef for breakfast, which is a nice touch.

My only concern was that there was something in our room which made noise (sort of like an air con unit) but I couldn't figure out what it was. I sleep with earplugs (and it was kind of a white noise anyway so not the kind of thing which would awaken you in the night) so it didn't present a problem, but if you're sensitive to that kind of thing ask to have a look at the room first.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist and/or ask to see your room first if you're sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HANH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Thank you for being our guest and writing such a nice review about our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and hope you will return should your travels bring you back to Syracuse.

The unit in your room you mentioned is an air purification system. It is part of a group of rooms that we have in our hotel for allergy sensitive guests. Again, thank you for being our guest and truly appreciate your comments. Kind regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 457 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great central location, very nice and helpful staff, cozy rooms (the air purifier/ humidifier made it feel very comfortable and relaxing... a nice touch), fast free wifi, delicious hot breakfast, and valet parking is a bonus. The downsides are that many toiletries/ personal care items are not provided in the room and you need to call front desk to ask for lotion, comb..etc. They have an impressive list of things they can provide you with but it would be nice to have some more of the basics in the room already. Another thing, rooms are old and you see a lot of wear and tear. Our sink cap was stuck shut when we just arrived so we had to fiddle around with it for a bit to fix it (not what you want to be doing as you settle in). And about the trademark rubber duckies....they're cute but I don't get the significance since there's no bathtub. But we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear aati,

Thank you for being our guest and leaving a review! We are happy you were able to try one of our PURE rooms. I'm very sorry about the sink stopper, I will make sure maintenance checks into that. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My 2nd stay here. I stayed here one night 1967 before my military physical the next morning. The US Government and my local Draft Board put me up here when being drafted for the Viet Nam war. Well the place looks a lot better these days. I also slept better this time around because I knew I was going home the next day and not to boot camp. The place is really nice. The people working here are even better. Very nice people both while checking in and out, plus the fellow that parked my car for me. When I checked in I was told that I got an "upgrade". I asked why and the nice lady just smiled. So I received an instant upgrade and have no idea why. My room was a suite. It had a very nice living room with very modern big screen TV and DVD player, nice kitchen with coffee maker, stove, dish washer, refrigerator, sink, and microwave. The bedroom had a real nice king size bed, another TV and DVD player, clothes closet, and large new modern bathroom. This is an old hotel but you would never know it from the inside of the rooms. I slept like a log because this room was so very quite. These walls are thick and these rooms are very very quite. I can't say enough about this hotel, it's employees and this great room. This hotel is close to the popular Armory Square area, it fact it's in the Armory Square area. Also one short block form the famous Landmark Theater, which was my reason for being here. We took in a concert at the theater, dined and toured the Armory Square and all from walking distance from our hotel. This is the place to stay when attending an event at the Landmark Theater and not wanting to drive home after the show. Stay here, you will be glad you did. I would have rated this hotel a 5 start rating if it wasn't for just one thing. The breakfast. They offer a free REAL full breakfast each morning. My only problem was that the scrambled eggs, home fries, and sausage that were in these headed serving containers were cold. However you can get eggs and omelets to order which would have been better. This is my dilemma and I really hate to say this in fear they will stop with the free breakfast. If this hotel did not offer a free breakfast I would have given it a 5 star rating but because the breakfast was so cold I can only give it a 4 star rating. Hopefully they will continue to offer the free real breakfast but will manage to keep it hot or at least warm, in the future. None the less, breakfast or no breakfast I love this hotel and you will too.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 4th floor or close to it. The elevator is small and if it's up on the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BurnWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear BurnWash,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and leaving such a nice review. I truly appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It sounds like you had a lovely visit to Syracuse. I do apologize for the cold breakfast- as it turns out the thermostat was not working properly and has since been replaced. I'm so sorry we overlooked that during your stay.
I hope you'll visit us again soon. The Landmark has been booking some excellent shows!
Warm Regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great spot in Syracuse. Lemongrass the restaurant next door has great food and spirits. Sit at the bar and take recommendations from the bartender. DVD collection and popcorn is a nice touch. rooms could use a little refresher.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Frank B,

Thank you for being our guest and leaving a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to visit the Lemon Grass. We hope you'll find time to visit us again.

Warm Regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I occasionally have to travel to Syracuse for work, and I would never stay anywhere else but the Jefferson Clinton. It's a beautifully kept older building in downtown Syracuse with old school charm and all the amenities you could want for a business stay. It's right in the heart of Armory Square, lots of shopping, restaurants and bars are a quick walk away. You're right near the farmers market that happens weekly, and just a quick walk to many corporate headquarters. I love the pure rooms, kitchenette, and morning breakfast, although 2 tv's in each room has always seemed a bit excessive to me. The only people I would not recommend this hotel to are couples with small children. Not much for them to do, and I'd love to keep the quiet atmosphere :)

Room Tip: Unless you are disabled and need a shower only room, request one with a tub! They're lovely. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrin N, Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Amy K,

Thank you so much for your kind words on TripAdvisor! I too enjoy the Downtown Farmer's Market on Tuesdays and look forward to it all winter long. We look forward to your future stays with us!

Best Wishes,
Corrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Was on the way from Montreal through to Niagara Falls and stayed overnight. Was very happy with the service from the staff and the amenities provided! To name a few:

Free DVD library in the lobby (and a good selection of recent titles too!), Free breakfast with hot food and custom-made omelettes, Tuesday evening social with free wine and finger food, complementary laundry facilities, and their trademark tiny rubber ducks in each bathroom!

Nice strong wifi signal everywhere we tried on the property.

Room Tip: Lots of nightlife in the area, so choose a higher-up room in the back if you're sensitive to sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nogami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrin N, Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Nogami,

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay on your way to Niagara Falls. I hope that the remainder of your trip was pleasant and that we will see you again when you come through Syracuse!

Best Wishes,
Corrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend while attending a wedding on the finger lakes.

We arrived late on Friday night and checked in quick and easy. The grand old hotel is easy to find in the middle if downtown, and with valet parking included in our room we didn't need to worry about anything.

The room was spacious and comfortable with a vintage feel. It had a small modern kitchenette with coffee machine and coffee pods included.

In the morning a hot breakfast was also included, so another thing not to worry about. The omelettes were especially good.

The staff we met were always pleasant and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank JuddFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaroffB2, Front Office Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear JuddFamily3,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that your travels bring you back to Syracuse very soon.

Looking forward to your next stay!

Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
706 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Address: 416 S Clinton St, Syracuse, NY 13202-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $158 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, large televisions with premium channels and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing