We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points, but better options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for our anniversary and were underwhelmed.

Good points:

Nice location, right downtown in armory square. Close to entertainment and restaurants.

Better than normal breakfast included.

Quaint older hotel.

Nice kitchens in the rooms.

Bad points:

Very uncomfortable bed and pillows. The pillows in particular don't match up well with what you find in most nicer hotels.

Very small closets, extremely small.

Security is a question. The elevator says that you need to use your room key to access the floors, but that isn't true. You can get to any of the floors without the card keys.

Pretty unfriendly staff. Both at night and at check in. The staff were not very helpful and they gave pretty curt responses to all questions (etc.).

What kind of modern hotel doesn't have any toiletries or Tylenol (etc.) available or for sale?

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Erethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Erethel,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and leaving feedback at Tripadvisor. I am so sorry your experience was less than expected. We take your comments to heart and have discussed them with our department heads.
We certainly hope you'll give us another chance.
Warm Regards,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 458 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just got back from 4 great nights. Would concur with all the other positive reviews. Location perfect for walking tours and great restaurants. Service is outstanding. we were upgraded to an executive suite, perfect for a long stay. Tasty breakfasts, valet parking, dvd library, complimentary truffles in the lobby. If we ever need to go to Syracuse again this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrin N, Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Harry J,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your travels through Syracuse and for leaving a review on TripAdvisor! I am happy to hear that your stay was pleasant! We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future!

Best Wishes,
Corrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location - walking distance to everything! Gorgeous hotel, very clean and elegant. So many different free amenities like DVD players in the room (with DVDs in the lobby to "rent" - includes microwave popcorn!), a Wii available at the front desk, and a great breakfast with made-to-order omelets! Best hotel I have ever been to - wish I could have stayed more than a night!

Room Tip: Great view on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrin N, Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Rebecca R,

Thank you for the lovely review on TripAdvisor and for your recent stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary ammenities! We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future!

Best Wishes,
Corrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I surprised my girlfriend for her birthday with a night out on the town and we stayed at the Jefferson Clinton. The hotel was amazing. The staff was very friendly and welcomed us to the hotel. The location was great because we were within walking distance to several great restaurants and bars. The room was amazing as well. They told us that they had 65+ rooms and all but 11 were suites. We had a great view from the 11th floor of all of downtown. They really made us feel at home. Breakfast was great as well. We're definitely coming back the next time we plan an event downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrin N, Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear weary_traveller25,

Thank you for choosing the Jefferson Clinton for your special weekend with your girlfriend! I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay! We look forward to having you as a guest again soon!

Best Wishes,
Corrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Jefferson Clinton Hotel recently during a shopping trip to the USA. Our room was very large and had a living room, bedroom, and kitchen. Way more than we needed! The location of this hotel is great. If you like good food and beer there are a number of great pubs in the Armoury Square area. The hotel has a free hot breakfast buffet that includes an omelette stand. My advice would be to leave the eggs under the heat lamp alone and get a fresh omelette made. They are delicious and have many ingredients to choose from. You can take the food up to your room and eat it, or eat in the restaurant area. The hotel also has a selection of DVDs you can borrow and watch in your room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Fin M,

Thank you for being our guest and taking time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay. I hope you were able to visit some of the great shops we have in Armory Square!
We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We just returned home from a two night stay at the Jefferson Clinton this past weekend.
It's a lovely little hotel, so much less impersonal than most.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff is competant, professional and helpful. As well there is tea, coffee, flavoured water, and even (this past weekend was chilly!) warm apple cider in the lobby as well as DVDs (popcorn included) and a large selection of newspapers and magazines.
In the room (we had an Executive Suite, with a full kitchen) there was a coffee table book on the history of Syracuse, and another on historic hotels.
It is really the attention to such details that set this hotel apart.
The location is excellent.

This was not our first stay at the Jefferson Clinton and it won't be our last. Really, one of my favourite hotels.

Room Tip: If you have to get up for an early meeting on a weekend, perhaps ask for a room away from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Geri M,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and leaving feedback on Tripadvisor! We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the kinds words regarding our staff, they will enjoy reading them.
We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Jefferson Clinton for an overnight stop on our road trip from Boston to Toronto. The hotel is easily accessed from the main highway. We were given a warm welcome at reception who then spent time telling us about the local area and the best places to eat. The room was enormous and included a small kitchen area, making it perfect for a touring the area or for a business person who needs a longer-term base in the city. Downstairs in reception, free tea and coffee (and fresh fruit) was available 24hrs and there is a small DVD and games library. The tasty breakfast was included in the price and both hot and cold dishes were available. Omlettes were cooked to order in the eating area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiestaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear FiestaPhil,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the recommendation! We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Warm Regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
1.0 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Address: 416 S Clinton St, Syracuse, NY 13202-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $135 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, large televisions with premium channels and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing