We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We just returned home from a two night stay at the Jefferson Clinton this past weekend.
It's a lovely little hotel, so much less impersonal than most.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff is competant, professional and helpful. As well there is tea, coffee, flavoured water, and even (this past weekend was chilly!) warm apple cider in the lobby as well as DVDs (popcorn included) and a large selection of newspapers and magazines.
In the room (we had an Executive Suite, with a full kitchen) there was a coffee table book on the history of Syracuse, and another on historic hotels.
It is really the attention to such details that set this hotel apart.
The location is excellent.

This was not our first stay at the Jefferson Clinton and it won't be our last. Really, one of my favourite hotels.

Room Tip: If you have to get up for an early meeting on a weekend, perhaps ask for a room away from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Geri M,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and leaving feedback on Tripadvisor! We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the kinds words regarding our staff, they will enjoy reading them.
We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 458 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Jefferson Clinton for an overnight stop on our road trip from Boston to Toronto. The hotel is easily accessed from the main highway. We were given a warm welcome at reception who then spent time telling us about the local area and the best places to eat. The room was enormous and included a small kitchen area, making it perfect for a touring the area or for a business person who needs a longer-term base in the city. Downstairs in reception, free tea and coffee (and fresh fruit) was available 24hrs and there is a small DVD and games library. The tasty breakfast was included in the price and both hot and cold dishes were available. Omlettes were cooked to order in the eating area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiestaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear FiestaPhil,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the recommendation! We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Warm Regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This place has some of the best service I have ever gotten in a hotel stay. Staff is competent and willing to help at any time day or night. Would recommend to anyone especially on a business trip. Also free booze on Tuesday night to guests. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Depotrat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaroffB2, Front Office Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Depotrat44,

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing such a kind review! Our staff will be excited to hear that you were satisfied with their service. We hope your business travel brings you our way again soon!

Warm regards,
Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had a excellent stay at the hotel. Staff was very friendly! This was a quick stop for a quick business trip, which was exactly what one would expect when away from home. Always look for a place that makes you feel like you are still at home, the same comforts, the same cleanliness, and the same qualities. I will continue using this hotel as my place of residence with any future business trips! Quality is on the level of many places I have stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaroffB2, Front Office Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Stephen P.,

Thank you for being our guest and writing a review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that our property suited your business travel needs. We will pass along your kind words to our staff and look forward to your next stay!

Best wishes,
Bridget.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We travelled to Syracuse after the death of a relative and were received with compassion and consideration by the staff. They gave us our favorite room, and even sent flowers to our home after we returned. I cannot say enough about how special this hotel is. The location is perfect, their full breakfast is excellent. We will always try to book here whenever we return to Syracuse.

Room Tip: The higher floors are better. Ask for a room away from the side street which can get noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bravegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Bravegirl - Thank you for the comforting words. We are glad that we were able to help in some small way. You and your family remain in our thoughts and prayers. With kindest regards, The JCH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What makes this place stand out above the crowd is their attention to detail -- from having an omelette chef in the morning when we were there, to nicely flavored water and fresh coffee through the day, and even changing the carpet in the elevator to say "Good evening" at night.

The staff was *great* - friendly, knowledgeable and nice to chat with.

The location was great - though it can get a bit noisy.. Many bars are nearby, and during our stay there was a drunken commotion outside that lasted until 2:30 am -- which kept many guests up. It's the price you pay for having a hotel in the city.

Overall, i'd stay again -though the price is definitely higher than others in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kryless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCHGM, General Manager at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Kryless,

Thank you so much for being our guest and leaving such nice comments about our hotel here at Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our staff.
We hope you will find a reason to visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

A very nice hotel in the centre of downtown Syracuse. The rooms are comfortable and you get a small rubber duck to take home to remind your stay. I'd got a small collection!
The hotel does happy hour with nibbles and free beer each evening.
There isn't a restaurant but it is very close to several restaurant and bars in Armoury Square.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank nigeltaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBusch, Owner at Jefferson Clinton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Many thanks for being a guest of ours and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and happy to see that you are enjoying your collection of ducks. Thank you again and we look forward to being to having you return in the near future. Kindest regards, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Skyler Syracuse, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
1.0 mi away
Aloft Syracuse Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#15 of 31 in Syracuse
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Genesee Grande Hotel
The Genesee Grande Hotel
#14 of 31 in Syracuse
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jefferson Clinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Clinton Hotel

Address: 416 S Clinton St, Syracuse, NY 13202-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Green Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: $135 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jefferson Clinton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jefferson Clinton Hotel is located in Historic Armory Square, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants, shopping, boutiques, museums and enjoyable evening entertainment. All of our rooms feature premium mattresses with triple sheeting, large televisions with premium channels and complimentary high speed and wireless internet access. Each guest receives our complimentary hot buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jefferson Clinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Clinton Syracuse
Hotel Jefferson Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing